Rotoscopy in FCE ?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Macnoviz, Jul 26, 2006.

  1. Macnoviz macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #1
    I'm a fan of rotoscoping, I used in some of my movies, and it's great to achieve great special effects with just some basic knowledge of photoshop. I did this by using the filmstrip format in Adobe Premiere, but now that I have switched to Mac, I am thinking of buying Final Cut Express. I was wondering wether this function was available in FCE. Any format that exports all the frames to a file, and that is editable in Photoshop will do. I couldn't find any mention of this on the specifications chart, but it was not that extensive, so I just wanted to know from the people who use this software.:)
     
  2. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #2
    Rotoscoping isnt really built into maybe NLE programs.

    but Quicktime PRO has the EXPORT function of "sequence of images", which would do what you want.

    I think.
     
  3. Jopling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    #3
    You should try rotoscoping in flash. Just edit the video in finalcut then throw it into Flash, thats what I did when I learned rotoscoping in school.
     
  4. jaduffy108 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #4
    roto-mania

    ### To do it "right"...use Shake or Combustion...far better tools for rotoscoping.
     
  5. Macnoviz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #5
    I am merely a humble student, I am already saving up for FCE at $200 (student discount) so Shake or Combustion are out of the question (even with Shake's price drop) I am not studying anything with movies or something (I'm a future priest) so even with something like Shake I would have to spend too much time learning everything

    I like the proposition of Flash, though, but does it have stuff like layers and brushes and such and such? (I don't have it)

    PS I just spent a whole day working on 14 seconds,:eek: in which I had to add a laser beam, but now I know a whole lot more:D
     
  6. Jopling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    #6
    Flash supports multiple layers and I personally think the brushes look better than photoshop.
     

Share This Page