router and secure wireless network

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by fjs08, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. fjs08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #1
    I have a linksys wireless router. How do I go about setting up a secure wireless network that will protect my TiBook at home. I have the same type of router at the office too. Can I set up the Powerbook on both?? My wife uses a Thinkpad at home. Can I set up the secure wireless network so both her computer and mine will be protected??

    Thanks.

    Frank
     
  2. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #2
    Its pretty easy to set up a secure wireless connection. Just type in the IP address of your router and go to wireless settings and then go to wireless security. Then select the type of security you want to use (WEP, WPA, WPA2, etc.) I would recommend WPA-PSK or WPA2-PSK, since WEP is easily breakable PSK stands for Preshared key (a password or passphrase) . Now just chose a password and remember that or write that on a piece of paper and click apply. Then you'll be disconnected from that network so just click on the airport menu and select your network and then input your password. You can do the same thing for your other router and the password does not have to be the same. OSX can remember the security settings for many different networks.

    My linksys router WRT54G may be different than yours but to get the general idea heres a screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  3. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #3
    >>Just type in the IP address of your router<<

    Where do I type this in?? I insert the CD and there is a dialog box as in the screen shot.

    >>My linksys router WRT54G<<

    I have the same router.

    My wife does the same thing on her computer, or can I set up both from my Mac?

    Frank
     
  4. briangig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    #4
  5. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #5
    i clicked on the ip address url, and was asked for name and password. I've never set one up for the router before. I input the computer name and password, and it wouldn't take. Any other thoughts?? It's kinda funny that I can't get into it<g>.

    Frank
     
  6. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    The Name is left blank and the password is correction:'admin'. Thats the default for linksys routers.

    Also you only have to configure the wireless settings for the router once. Then just enter the password when you connect to it from your computers.
     
  7. Chase265 macrumors newbie

    Chase265

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #7
    isn't that default password for linksys "admin"......
     
  8. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #8
    Oops sorry, youre right. The default password is admin.
     

Share This Page