Router - Mac to PC - safe?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by UnitedRed, Mar 29, 2007.

  1. UnitedRed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #1
    I use an iMac G5 and upto now this was the only computer in our house. So I never needed any anti-virus software or anything.

    But now we've been given an oldish PC, and have connected it to the internet using a router from my modem. Is there anything I need to have installed to protect my mac, you hear about how people crack into other peoples routers and steal their internet use or details/files.

    I know macs don't really need software the anti-virus software but now that a PC is somewhat connected to it, I don't know if anything has changed or not.

    Can someone give me advice on what is needed if anything?

    Also the person who installed the router said I should be running an anti virus program on my iMac as they aren't as safe as what people make them out to be. I told him that they were still pretty much safe against viruses but he kept insisting they weren't, and they are always being infected or hacked into.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!
     
  2. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #2
    You still don't need antivirus on the Mac now either. Just make sure the PC is secure, becuase even if it doesn't affect the Mac it self, a zombified PC will still bog down you network and internet connection.
     
  3. UnitedRed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #3
    cool, just what I needed to hear. Thanks
    The PC has the AVG program on and maybe something else too
     
  4. Homer2556 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    AVG is alright, but I use Avast on my PC (still waiting for the upgraded iMacs). It even synchs with MS Outlook to check for viruses in incoming mail. Much easier to use, and automatically checks for definition updates. Just my 2 cents :cool:
     
  5. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #5
    Yeah, I have talked to these "experts" as well.

    They have absolutely no clue what they say or talk about. Take his mac advice as you would an 8 year old child. :)
     
  6. UnitedRed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #6
    I had some problems with my connection yesterday and had to ring up Blueyonder (Virgin). I don't know if it was because I had put the router on the previous day or because some phones etc around this area were experiencing difficulties. Virgin told me to unplug the router as they couldn't help with that in, tested my modem and its working fine now.

    Also someone I know said to keep any wires away from the router as it may interfere with it
     
  7. ~Kat~ macrumors member

    ~Kat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal
    #7
    I have a new desktop PC and this was my concern as well. I'm going to get a wireless router.

    My PC guy recommended Avast and to steer clear of IE which I had been anyway because of all of the security issues.
     
  8. UnitedRed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #8
    think I might have to take it back, it just won't let me online if that is connected
     

Share This Page