Routers: what do you have?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by iampaulb, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. iampaulb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I have been trying to set up my server, with not much luck. Everything works on client side, hostname resolving to ip etc that type of thing. But even when on a computer in my network nothing resolves.

    So I have been looking at routers, ideally id like a Airport Extreme as i can control this from the server.app however its a little steep in price. And as im learning all this (for work, i work in IT support) Maybe an apple router is not the best option so I am looking for suggestions on other really good routers which are highly customizable.
     
  2. Consultant
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
  3. shenfrey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #3
    I use Time Capsule and it has never let me down, it just works.
     
  4. SandboxGeneral
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    #4
  5. iampaulb
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Nice...got any good tutorials for that? That will allow the same control and function from the server.app?
     
  6. DesertEagle
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    DesertEagle

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    /home @ 127.0.0.1
    #6
    Netgear N900 (a.k.a WNDR4500). It handles my file- and media-server like a charm.
     
  7. Weaselboy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
  8. SandboxGeneral
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    #8
    Hmmph... looks like the price came down (from the $2600 price) since I bought it! :D
     
  9. dimme
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #9
    Netgear here, I had a older AEBS but found it was too limited in what I can do. I like the flexibility of the netgear.
     
  10. DJLC
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #10
    Asus RT-N66U here. Super fast and super flexible for at home. The built-in firmware is pretty alright, and it also supports DD-WRT. Best consumer router I've ever used by far without the premium you pay for Apple hardware.
     
  11. Plutonius
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  12. Giuly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #12
    Cisco Linksys E3200. Does work fine, nice range, has a WAN-LAN throughput > 100MBit/s, hasn't had one random disconnect so far and it supports 40MHz-wide channels for the iPhone 5 and iPad 4th-gen. I can't complain whatsoever. If you want to go crazily customizable, it runs dd-wrt, too.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. designs216
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    designs216

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Down the rabbit hole
    #13
    The Airport Extreme was a good router but I sold it to get the TimeCapsule for a cleaner setup. It seems the earlier software version had more options and some people will complain there's no QoS with Apple routers. I've been very pleased personally. I had a few Linksys routers previously and had to restart them often.
     
  14. matspekkie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #14
     
  15. tshort
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #15
    Oh... have I had fun with the ASA 5500 series...

    I have a Verizon ActionTec MI424WR, a Time Capsule, and a Cisco 891-W.
     
  16. 1934hotrod, Feb 8, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013

    1934hotrod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    1934hotrod

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Woodstock
    #16
    I just installed the Cisco EA4500 matched with a Cisco cable modem. Very pleased with the performance it pops real nice. Had a E1000 and this new router is lighting, only note to add is the admin of the router works best with FireFox. Safari is clunky for admin of the router, but that's Safari and that's the rest of the story. Cannot go wrong with Cisco network products.

    Greg
     
  17. jalagl
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    jalagl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #17
    TP-Link TL-WR1043ND with DD-WRT v24 preSP2

    Very stable, the media sharing functionality doesn't work with DD-WRT, but it is a good tradeoff for stability, speed, and it cost me $50! :D
     
  18. wgnoyes
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #18
    Yep, mid-2011 Time Capsule. I was trying to use a D-Link router (no intended slam on D-Link, by the way) before and had all kinds of issues with apple TV dropping connection to the iMac. I got the TC primarily for activating time machine backups, but also found that as soon as I had it configured and online in place of the d-link, all the ATV dropped connection issues promptly disappeared.
     

Share This Page