Rumour Web site was 'right to publish Apple secrets'

Discussion in 'Mac Scene' started by MacBytes, Jan 7, 2005.

1. MacBytes macrumors bot

2. zelmo macrumors 603

zelmo

I guess the only way Nick dePlume can prove his innocence for sure is to reveal his true identity, so Apple can be satisfied that he signed no NDA with them to protect their secrets.

3. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

That's kinda what I was thinking. I haven't read the other thread on this topic, but seems to me that whoever breached the ND is the one that is at fault, not the web site. But what do I know. I'm not a lawyer, and I don't even play one on TV. :rolleyes:

Woof, Woof - Dawg

4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

"Walking a fine line.."

LOL, More like digging a trench in quicksand.

But you have to hand it to the legal team he has working for him, especially when they allow him to go out and grant interviews to the media. :rolleyes:

5. 1macker1 macrumors 65816

1macker1

Don't seem like they have a case. He didn't break any contract, it's Apple's own workers who are breaking the contract. Wonder why someone would be willing to do something like this and risk getting fired.

6. zelmo macrumors 603

zelmo

I suppose that he could still be in trouble if he somehow compensated his source in exchange for the information, though. At any rate, Apple's real beef is with the person who breached the NDA, and there is really no other way for them to ID that person without going through TS.

7. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

Chip NoVaMac

I am starting to see Apple's side to the story. For if "Nick" is in a position to have signed an NDA, he is also "profiting" off that relationship. And that is wrong. Wrong to a greater degree than those others that signed NDAs and decided to break them to a rumor site.

8. Stella macrumors 604

Stella