Run both XP and Snow Leopard simultaneously?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Lolsing, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #1
    Hi!

    I bought my Mac a few weeks ago, and now I have successfully installed Windows XP with Bootcamp. But what my question is, if it is possible to run both operating systems simultaneously without having to shut down computer and hold down alt to choose. For example, I want to be able to just press a key when I am in Snow Leopard, and it should take me to XP. And of course from XP to Snow Leopard, while I still run programs on the computer. Is this possible?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    You have to run Windows in a virtual environment.

    Google Parallels Desktop or VMWare Fusion. Both these products do the job.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #3
    Yes you can. It's called virtualization.
    Google Parallels and VMWare Fusion for more info.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #6
    Thanks for the fast replies!

    I downloaded VirtualBox and installed it. But is there no way for me to use my bootcamped windows partition instead of creating a new virtual one?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #7
    nope... VM's use a different set of "virtual hardware" whereas bootcamp uses your physical hardware.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    I think Parallels and Fusion can do this...no idea about VirtualBox though.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #9
    That is correct. Both VMWare and Parallels can use the Bootcamp partition as a virtual machine. Virtualbox however, cannot do this.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #10
    oh wow that's cool... didn't know that!
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #11
    so I've been trying to do some research on this but I can't seem to find anything that says you can run the same windows operating system from boot camp and paralells?

    anyone have some documentation or experience to back that up? that would be the icing on the cake for me to purchase parallels but I find it a little confusing as to how it would handle the difference in hardware between bootcamp and a VM.

    thanks :)
     
  12. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    Yes you can and have been able to do so for a LONG time.

    Just download the trial of parallels and try it for yourself if you need proof of the pudding.

    Parallels basically installs parallels tools so that when it's in the VM state it uses parallels drivers.

    As soon as you boot back with bootcamp, the full bootcamp drivers are used once more.

    That's all there is to it. Simple as.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    mpuck972

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #13
    Running in a virtual mode via either Parallels or VM will restrict you to only being able to use half the systems memory and processor right?

    Like if you have 4gb of memory, when you are running virtually you will only be able to access 2gb for each OS.
     

Share This Page