Run Windows Apps On A G4 Without Running Windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by wmmk, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. wmmk
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #1
    is there anything like rosetta (but backwards) with WINE or DARWINE uilt in?
    thanks
     
  2. yippy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    No there is not. The only way you could possibly run a Windows app on a G4 or G5 without running Windows is to emulate x86 linux and then use wine. This option will probably be much slower than just using Virtual PC.
     
  3. wmmk
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #4
    ok, now i have qemu and darwine ppc, what do i do?
    again, i don't want to have to boot xp
    thanks you all so much (especially vinow) for the quick and helpful responses.
     
  4. grabberslasher
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #5
    Sorry but that won't happen for you yet - Darwine is currently not able to use qemu to emulate binaries. They're working on it though!
     
  5. wmmk
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #6
    thanks for the info , but DARN!! is there anything else i can do with darwine to run real windows apps?
    p.s. how, did they make those "sample winelib applications"? i wonder if i could turn a egular app into one of those.
    are there any solutions like darwine+qemu, or am i just out of luck?

    vinow, have you used x86 emulators with darwine successfully?
    if so, which ones
    THANK YOU SO MUCH:D
     
  6. wmmk
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #7
    ok, time for a crazy/awesome idea. darwine runs in x11, right? why not make a version of x11 that is an emulator in itsself!?!?! Then, you can have your x86 x11 and your ppc x11
    BINGO:D :)

    can i run darwine directly in qemu (i am actually using q, but theyr the amse thing)
     

Share This Page