Runcore 64GB firmware flash

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Synchromesh, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Synchromesh

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    SF
    #1
    I have a Runcore 64GB LIF SSD in my Air. Apparently it's still running 1571 version of firmware. I would like to upgrade that to the latest 1916. Couple of questions:

    1. Which firmware executable do I use for this particular drive?
    2. Is it safe to flash 1571 straight to 1916? I heard some users had problems if one doesn't flash to an interim version first
    3. Is there a write up how to do this flash on Mac anywhere? I found one for Rev A but not 100% sure it's exactly the same as Rev B/C since controllers are different

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #2
    Hi I just got the 64gb today too! WoW can I just say that this drive is amazing!
    Totally get why people were flipping out about it, its crazy! Just suddenly turned my painfully slow but well loved Air into a powerhouse! Editing on Aperture and iphoto books is now a breeze and ram doesn't seem to be an issue. Well impressed, like having a macbook pro.
    Back to the firmware. Well I suspect mine is on that early firmware too.
    I emailed Run-core for them to send me a custom iso of the latest firmware for use on a mac, but I should have asked for all of them as you have to install each update or DOA your drive! Also the hard drive enclosure they included was a dud, probably due to it being an early shipping version that suffered with DOA usb boards. Let me know how you get on;)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Synchromesh

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    SF
    #3
    Let me know how it turns out. I did the same but so far no answer for a couple of days. Anybody else has a guide and file?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #4
    Who did you send the email to? I can help out to see what the hold up is.

    Matt Dawson
    Runcore
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Synchromesh

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    SF
    #5
    PM sent.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #6
    No reply to my email yet. Still need that enclosure for my old hard drive.
    Did you get your iso image off runcore?
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #8
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Synchromesh

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    SF
    #9
    Thanks guys. Followed instructions, worked just fine. Now shows 1916 in Hardware Profile. Kind of strange staring at DOS on a new Mac. :) Not to mention using commands I almost forgot long ago.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Synchromesh

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    SF
    #10
    No, I never got it, used references from this forum. I did get the enclosure a little while ago, they responded fairly quickly to that one. Talk to the Runcore guy here, he seems to be able to speed things up a bit.
     

Share This Page