RunCore FW update...!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Shrek-Moscow, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    #1
  2. macrumors newbie

    quisguous

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #2
    Nice find! My RunCore SSD's performance is still good though, so I think I'll probably wait for them to offer a less convoluted install process for Macs. May be a while of course...
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #3
    Is there anything similar for the stock SSD in a Rev. B? Mine seems really slow as of late.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #4
    Found this in the bug fix doc from Indilinx regarding FW 1916.

    Bug Fix: performance drop issue in quite clean state. This problem is fixed with changing weak dynamic wear leveling parameter
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #5
    There are some patches for this problem with Gen 3 SSD's I know it works with the JMicron 601 and 602 controller. I am not sure if there is a mac version or something like it.

    http://flashfire.org/xe/

    Many people use this with the Runcore Pro III SSD's they report it helps but does not compare with a new Pro IV SSD.

    Matt Dawson
    Runcore
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    quisguous

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #6
    Runcore support FTW

    I emailed support@runcore.com, told them I'm on a Mac, and asked them to send me an ISO to update my runcore drive's firmware. They asked for my drive's PN. I sent them my hard drive info from the system profiler instead (includes model name, serial number, etc). They emailed me an ISO (was about 700k big). I burned the ISO to a blank CD, booted off the CD, ran the .EXE that was in the root dir, and it updated my firmware. I booted to bootcamp, took a look in the hardware manager, and verified the new firmware version.

    Piece of cake!
     

Share This Page