Running Final Cut (or Avid) and After Effects

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Rsulliv1, Aug 4, 2004.

  1. Rsulliv1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    #1
    Hey all,

    I was thinking about getting a powerbook G4. I wanted to do some video editing on it, so what do you guys think would be my best option? I'm assuming the old rule applies: Buy as much as you can afford.

    The hardest test would be for the laptop to run After Effects and Final Cut Pro at the same time. Could any powerBook handle this?

    Thanks again,
    Ryan.
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    I'm sure a PB could handle it. How "well", though, depends on you definetion of "well" and the complexity of the videos you will be editing.

    Only buy a laptop for this if you have to have a portable editing solution (and/or you are doing relatively simple projects).


    Lethal
     
  3. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    You can run FCP on it a powerbook, but i don't know if you can run both. If you need to have all three running at the same time, you might want to look at a G5, esp. if portability isn't an issue
     
  4. filmmaker2002 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    #4
    I run FCPHD and After Effects on my 17" 1.5 G4 all the time. I do everything from boring/simple wedding videos to my current project/Animal Planet special. It can handle pretty much anything but uncompressed BetaSP or Digital Beta video or Uncompressed formats that require a special breakout box. FCP runs like a dream on this thing. Now that's not to say that a G5 won't be better, because it sure as hell will be. But if you're just doing DV, DVCAM, DVCPRO, or even HDCAM, you should be fine.
     
  5. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Errr... you cut HD on yer laptop?


    Lethal
     
  6. Rsulliv1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    #6
    Thanks.

    Done.

    I already placed my order.

    Thanks!
     
  7. filmmaker2002 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    #7
    Yup :cool:
     
  8. Sharewaredemon macrumors 68000

    Sharewaredemon

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Breton Island
  9. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9

    Mind if I ask how you cut HDCAM on yer laptop?


    Lethal
     
  10. Rsulliv1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    #10
    I decided on the 17" Powerbook 1.5GHz w/512Mb for right now. Ebay has a 512 chip for 130, so I might go that route.

    I boosted the video memory to 128 and the hard drive to 5400 RPM

    I'm going to wait and save for the G5. I was going to need a laptop to hook up with a projector eventually, so I did it now.

    So now.... What type of projector would you recommend?


    Thanks again,
    Ryan.
     
  11. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #11
    512 is $109 on Crucial which is *MUCH* better and even cheaper.
     

Share This Page