Running G5 as Server. Need Help!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WAM2, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    WAM2

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    So I Have 500gb Total in RAID 0 on my Powermac G5 using 2 250gb HDD's. Its running 10.5.8, its a dual 1.8ghz, 4gb Ram, 9800 Pro, ect. Now Before you say the thing is loud and uses alot of power, I Dont care. And Heat isnt an issue, as its downstairs, it could use some heating up down here anyway. Either Way, I'm looking to use it as a home file server, Possible Minecraft Home Server??, with remote desktop for my MBP and iMac.


    Now I Have never been able to successfully figured out how to make it a home server, if someone could make a noob guide, or just give me some idea on how to get it working correctly.. The Thing is collecting dust and needs to be put to work!
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #2
    Are you looking to use Open source server apps, or Apple server apps? because **** like Apache is pretty easy to get.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WAM2

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    Prob apple, so it integrates better with my network and setup, but whatever seems more viable. Again it's just a home server.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #4
    Everything you need is already right on any Mac running 10.5 or later. Just turn on file sharing on any Mac you want file access to. Use the built in app called "Screen Sharing" for remote access. The easiest way to access it is by clicking on the Mac you want to remotely use in the finder sidebar under shared and click on "Share Screen" in the top right of the window. Note that along with file sharing you need to turn on screen sharing in the sharing prefs.

    You don't need a server version of OS X at all and you certainly don't need Apache as thats a web server and will do nothing you list needs for.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #5
    If you really want to run Minecraft properly I'd suggest seeing if u can somehow upgrade your java as you ideally need Java 6 especially if you're going to use any mods on it such as bukkit
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    #6
    I'm looking to set up something similar.
    My question - can I put applications on the file server, so that I can have just one set of up to date apps that can be accessed by all users?

    Or does each local mac need it's own apps folder?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    estrides

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Id like to know the same thing as ehobbit is asking...could you run them server side?
     

Share This Page