Running Jaguar 10.2

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by thebigapple, Aug 2, 2002.

?

Do u believe me

  1. Yes

    8 vote(s)
    72.7%
  2. No

    3 vote(s)
    27.3%
  1. thebigapple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    #1
    To many of the ppl that will read this they will not believe, but I am using 10.2 right now (August 2nd).

    I will not give away to much but here it is:

    New loading curser (Beach Ball) has changed to be bigger and sharper (but I think not as nice).

    New buttons, now a bit more flatter than the old ones.

    Instead of the arrows chasing their tails it has changed to a shockwave kind of looking thing.

    I tried iChat but I didn't have a AOL account and when I tried rendevouz it didn't work (Same with itunes, didn't work.

    The address book is cool but I can't get the "map of" to work.

    System Prefs have changed to be easier and look more modern (White mouse and keyboard now).

    Sharing prefs have changed to be more useable, you can now share printers and the internet, (So if you have an airport connection to an iMac you can hook another computer up to the iMac using ethernet to share the internet).

    New backgrounds, you can also set it to change every so minutes, hours etc.

    Mails new junk filter works really well.

    Dock has changed to a slightly transperant white instead of stripes.

    Preview has changed to be more complex with thumbnail options, and when you open more than 1 picture it doesn't open new windows for each, just shows them in the thumbnail drawer.

    If you use airport the menu bar thing has changed so you can connect using the drop down menu and you can see the time on the menu bar.

    TextEdit has changed, more complex.

    That's all I want to say and I will remove this post soon.
     
  2. Geert macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #2
    not on Jaguar yet, but can't wait to install it.
     
  3. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #3
    I don't think there's any need for you to remove the post... there's nothing in your post that most people here havent heard anyway. Plus, I''m not sure you can delete your post... I think that has to be done by a mod.
     
  4. papplegate macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    Why would anyone care if you are running 10.2? Lots of people who develop software have it, and some that should not have it. If you are running it before 8/24 congrats. I have to wait, and I am sure most of the rest of the world does too.
    Paul
     
  5. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #5
    you could sure be running it, but there is no chance that it is GM

    besides...you stated yourself that things aren't working right

    you better buy it when it's released
     
  6. MacMaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #6
    You're right, you can't delete your own posts...a mod. must do that for you.
     
  7. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #7
    Tell me...are the SPRING-LOADED Folders in GM?

    P.S.: If the first post of the thread is deleted the entire thread could be deleted.

    appledawg, do you have any screenshots of these "shockwave" occurances, or the transparent dock?
     
  8. big macrumors 65816

    big

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    #8
    you could edit it, and take all the info out, though the post itself may not be deleatable
     
  9. merges macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    #9
    yes, spring-loaded folders are part of jaguar.

    the asynchronous progress indicator (formerly chasing arrows, now the "shockwave-like thingy" as it was most elegantly described) is visible in the countdown widget at http://www.apple.com/macosx/

    imagine the dock without pinstriping and you have your new dock.
     
  10. G4scott macrumors 68020

    G4scott

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    Wow thebigapple, you know how to use carracho, and find developer seeds. Tell us, what build are you using? Besides, tons of people already know about what you posted here. Why don't you tell us about the features of Jaguar when it goes GM?
     
  11. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
  12. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    I'm running it, and have been for awhile.

    G4scott-
    Congrats on the 'tar! How'd you capture that animation?
     
  13. topicolo macrumors 68000

    topicolo

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #13
    Wow! he's running on Jaguar everybody! isn't that amazing? I proclaim him to be God because he's cool enough to download a copy of Jag off of Carracho. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
     
  14. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #14
    I have had Jaguar WWDC for quite a while, I can't wait for the GM version of Jag to be released.

    Ensign
     
  15. gopher macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #15
    There is a Jaguar build at the Tysons Corner Virginia Apple Store for viewing purposes only on their 17" Flat Panel iMac.
     
  16. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #16
    >(topicolo)I proclaim him to be God because he's cool enough to download a copy of Jag off of Carracho. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    We already have two, we don't need three. :p :p :p :p

    >(merges) the asynchronous progress indicator (formerly chasing arrows, now the "shockwave-like thingy" as it was most elegantly described) is visible in the countdown widget at http://www.apple.com/macosx/

    I think that same one is also in the startup screen of Jaguar, as a few others have pointed out.

    bigapple, are you using a G3 or G4? Are there incredible speed improvements on your computer?
     

Share This Page