Running motion on dual g4?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Wano, Aug 11, 2004.

  1. Wano macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    #1
    I have a Dual 1.25ghz G4 with 1.25gb of ram and an 80gb system drive and 200gb video drive. Do you guys think motion will run smooth on this machine? Because if it's too slow I don't think it would be worth it.
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #3
    yes i'm guessing it will be able to run, i dont' know how smoothly, but for sure it'll need a Dual-2GHz G5 and 4GB RAM, high-end video card for the real-time stuff.

    you may be able to turn off the real-time effects, but that's kind of besides the point. the reason to have Motion is for the real-time sutff, right?
     
  4. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #4
    If you *need* to use Motion - you should use a G5. The guts of a G4 will cut it, but it might be annoyingly sluggish at times. If you are definitely getting motion, try it out. If it doesn't work well enough - upgrade! ;)
     
  5. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    from what ive been told by my reseller it will only work with the specified graphics cards.
     

Share This Page