Running OS 9 on Start up Disk?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Checkered Box, May 1, 2006.

  1. Checkered Box macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #1
    Well i couldnt find a better place to post this, so...
    i have a problem with an application that i was told could be solved if i booted OS 9 in the Startup Disk preference
    sadly i cannot find OS 9 on the startup disk, all it gave me was OS 10.4.6 and Network Startup
    how can i get OS 9 to show up?

    thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Which Mac do you have?

    If it's less than a few years old, it won't boot into OS 9.

    If it's an Intel Mac, it won't even use Classic, which is an OS 9 emulator.

    If it's not an Intel Mac, and Classic isn't installed, it's available as a package on the installation disks.
     
  3. Checkered Box thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #3
    its a 1.8 GHz PowerPC G5
    uhhh an iMac thats atleast a couple of years old
    Version 10.4.6
    i CAN boot the classic ENVIROMENT, but i cant find Classic in the Start up Disk options
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    I think the only way to get OS 9 installed - and I could be wrong here - is to use the system restore disks to bring it back to "original" condition, which would include OS 9, then update it to Tiger.

    I'd like to think there's a better solution,and perhaps someone can recommend one. However, OS 9 (as opposed to the Classic emulator) is not on any of the OS X disks in the recent past (or ever?) but was on the restore disks provided for those computers which could run it.

    I would imagine that you could get ahold of OS 9 installation disks and use them as well.
     
  5. Checkered Box thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
  6. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    They should have come with the system. I'm assuming you bought it used if you don't have them. In that case, I suppose your options - and again, I'm just waiting for a more knowledgeable member to chime in - would include looking for OS 9 on eBay or other sites and/or searching for others with your same system and/or contacting Apple.

    However, if the app really needs OS 9 to run, is it worth all of that trouble? Just curious.
     
  7. Checkered Box thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #7
    no i didnt buy it second hand, so i guess i should have the OS 9 installation disks! :)

    well, the appilication should be able to run on OS X, but it doesnt
    and the devlopers have been telling us for 2 years that they are going to fix it.... and in the classic eviroment it cant save...
     
  8. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    He has the classic environment so it is already installed.

    (And there is a better way, when you put the restore disks in there is an option to install "Additional Applications" This lets you reinstall most apps that came with the computer without reinstalling the whole system.

    The disks JSW was talking about are the system restore disks that should have come in the box with your computer)

    The reason OS 9 is not available in the startup disks is because your computer, any G5 actually, is incapable of booting OS 9. If you have the classic environment that starts OS 9 on top of OS X, which you said you did, that is as close to booting OS 9 as you will get.
     
  9. Checkered Box thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
  10. IEatApples macrumors 6502a

    IEatApples

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
    #10
    I'm curious what app we are talking about? Mind telling us Checkered Box?
     
  11. Checkered Box thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
  12. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    This is not quite true. MacOS 9 shipped preinstalled on a lot of Power Mac G5s, including my own. The reason that it is no longer preinstalled on PPC-based Macs is that few MacOS X users need it. Whether or not your computer can boot MacOS 9 plays only a minor role here. You are correct in that Classic is available as a simple install from the System Restore disk for users who need it.

    And another thing. Classic is not an emulator. It is PPC code running on PPC hardware.
     

Share This Page