Running so slow.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DarkPassenger, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #1
    Hello all!

    I have a Mac OS X Version 10.5.8 laptop.

    Processor 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

    Memory 1 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM


    Hardrive Capacity: 74.21 GB

    Available: 15.4 GB


    Opening anything takes forever, Im always freezing and seeing that rainbow circle icon >_>

    Anything I can do to help this?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #2
    Add more RAM, 1 GB is not much, especially not when running a browser with lots of tabs open for instance.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
  4. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Odds are high you don't have enough ram - look to upgrade it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #5
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Meaning you can use at least 2 GB more RAM, thus getting two 2 GB modules would be a good way to go.

    You need 200-pin DDR2 SO-DIMM RAM.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #7
    6 GB if it's the 13" late 2007.

    But I think he has one of the earlier one, there's plenty of 2 GHz machines though, as long as the OP doesn't say the model we can just guess.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #8
    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook3,1

    Dont know if that helps haha
     
  9. justperry, Jan 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013

    macrumors 603

    justperry

    #9
    Yes, and you are lucky, it can go up to 6 GB, one 4 GB stick and one 2 GB stick, but if I were you I would buy just one 4 GB stick.
    Are both slots occupied now?

    Link to your model on EveryMac
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #10
    I think so, I'm pretty clueless at this type thing

    [​IMG]

    I took a screen cap, is that it?
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    Yes, both are occupied.

    Bank 0 and bank 1 are slot 1 and slot 2.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #12
    Yes, actually that is what I suspected, two 512 MB dimm's, if you replace one of them with a 4 GB stick you will have 4.5 GB available which should already be better, if you replace both you can go up to 6 GB Max.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #13
    Awesome, thanks guys!

    Wheres the best place to buy it would you say?
     
  14. DarkPassenger, Jan 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
  15. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    Nope. It's 204-pin DDR3 SO-DIMM RAM for late 2008 and newer MB/Ps, and you need 200-pin DDR2 SO-DIMM RAM.

    And I have not seen an eBay article with such a scarce description, but at least the seller mentioned "DDR3 RAM".

    You need something like this, and DDR2 RAM is more expensive than DDR3 RAM due to its age and not being produced in masses like DDR3 RAM.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #16
    Ok thanks, lucky I didnt big on it :p

    Might just buy it from the link you sent, you think this should stop the computer going so slow then?
     
  17. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #17
    It will not stop it from being slow, but the slowness should appear much less with more RAM.

    You could also add an SSD to your MB, thus getting an even snappier machine, since the HDD is the slowest components (besides the optical disk drive (ODD)) in computers nowadays.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #18
    Last question/summary.

    Ok so I have two choices, sell the mac the way it is and get a acer, or get that upgrade.

    I do graphics and animation so really do need a laptop that is fast enough to handle them programs, never mind one that freezes opening google.

    So if I get this upgrade, will it be able to hold up with todays laptops, for example this: http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5089174.htm
     
  19. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #19
    Hate to say it but sell the Mac.
     
  20. Quad5Ny, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #20
    I agree, get a new computer. But you should really look for a laptop with better battery life. 3.5 hours in 2013?...that is not very good.

    A few things Windows laptop manufactures skimp out on are the Screen, Trackpad and speakers. Also check the keyboard for flex by pushing on it. Basically what I'm saying is use the computer in person before buying it.

    Oh and make sure if its a Intel laptop it has HD 4000 Graphics (or a separate dedicated card). History of Intel's integrated graphics - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_HD_Graphics. Don't go lower than HD 4000.
     

Share This Page