Running The Sims 2 (PC disc) on a mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by mgsfan18, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Is it possible to run a PC copy of The Sims 2 on a mac? I know there is a mac version of the game but I owned a PC when I bought it but now all I have is a mac.

    Or is there a way to trade my PC copy for a mac copy.




    Does anyone want to trade a PC copy for a mac copy of the game?


    answers to any of these questions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in Advance!:apple:
     
  2. macrumors regular

    asphyxiafeeling

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Location:
    Cali baby!
    #2
    1. No*

    2. Sadly, No. the game was ported by Aspyr, they want moola for a new copy. (same situation happened to me with Spore / COD4)

    3. Doubtful, but maybe you can find somebody.

    You could get a copy of windows and use bootcamp, but that's a bit of a hassle.

    *you could try using crossover or some virtual program. i'm not knowledgeable on them, so i'll let somebody else try and explain.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I tried the free trial of crossover but I was unable to run The Sims 2 it would install forever and never say insert disc 2
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #4
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=662748

    ok well i installed it with crossover and all that junk with the pc disc. now that its done im really in a hurry to play it but one problem came up. when i try to launch it, it says insert correct disc and try this application again or some crap... the game is installed but it wont run it said to put in disc 1 but i did and nothing happened!! now im kinda annoyed because ive never had a sims game and always liked the looks of it. if you know what to do please help! ive been searching google but i dont know what to do just yet!! :( please help if u can!!! thanks :D long live mac!:apple:
     
  5. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Many questions. Here are the answers in a nutshell:

    - You need to buy a new copy.

    New question from you "But I don't want to cough up $50 for another disc of The Sims 2, how do I make this one work?"

    Answer:

    - Install Windows through Boot Camp and run it there or you can use a virtual machine using Fusion or Parallels. For best results though, I recommend using Boot Camp.
     

Share This Page