Running Three 20" on a new Dual Core

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by morrisond, Oct 21, 2005.

1. macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm new to the Mac World. What Video Cards do I need to (if it is possible) to run three 20" Monitors? Will the virtual desktop spread across all three?

If I get an 2.3 or Quad Core 2.5 with the 6660 Card which supports two(128 Meg Ram each) do I just have to get a 6600 to run the other one? Can you order this from Apple?

I don't like the thought of having a horizontal line right in front of my face by only having 2 montiors, and the three 20's give me 5,040 pixels across instead of 2,560(30" Monitor) for the same price(I know they are not as many pixels high). I prefer Horizontal width to Vertical height and this setup gives me 5,292,000 of Pixels versus 4,090,000.

Any thoughts.

Thank you.

2. macrumors 603

wordmunger

Yes, the G5 is designed to do this. But as crazyeddie notes, you need to use a PCIe graphics card.

3. Guest

iGary

What kind of work are you going to be using it for?

4. thread starter macrumors newbie

I'll be mainly using it for Photoshop(digital Photography). I also ususally have some Nikon Software(Probably will get Aperture as well it looks great) and a Browser or two as well.

I hate having to click between apps, I would love just to be able to see them all.

I'm also about to get a HDV Camcorder as well so I will be getting into editing that as well (two kids)

5. macrumors G4

Chundles

Oop, look out morrisond, here comes the man with the best set up on the forum (bar my polystyrene one of course).

All he has to do is show you what the 30" looks like in a working environment and you'll so cave...

Dammit, I want one and I've only got an iBook.