Running Virtual PC on a server network

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kaizer, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. kaizer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #1
    Hello everybody.

    I've just switch jobs and this company is using Windows only PC running on a Linux server.

    There's some Windows specific programs that I need to use.

    1.Visual Basic
    2.Cargowise (a cargo booking program for airfreight)

    My question is, can I use Virtual PC to connect to the server to run these application?

    I'm worried as the database is stored on the server (or wherever that maybe:confused: ).

    I'm using an iBook 700Mhz with 285Mb of ram. I'm planning to use Windows 98 on the Virtual PC.


    Thanks in advance.
    (P.s: I was bombarded with questions on why I choose a Mac over PCs... My answer? No virus and darn stable! Muahahahahhahahahhah....!)
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Virtual PC will function just like a regular PC, albeit slowly. So if you can connect to the server using a standard Windows PC, then you can do it with Virtual PC too.

    I would recommend using the same version of Windows that they use in the organisation. For example, if they're running 2000, then I recommend that you do too. 2000 likes networks better than 98.
     
  3. lmalave macrumors 68000

    lmalave

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    Chinatown NYC
    #3
    Networking can sometimes be a little tricky on Virtual PC, but theoretically you should have no trouble connecting to a remote database server from your Virtual PC.

    If I were you I would be a lot more concerned about performance. Some programs run OK on Virtual PC, but then other programs seem to be intolerably slow. I would try to test the software you need to run to see if Virtual PC is even a viable solution.
     
  4. VegetaPunk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Location:
    AZ
    #4
    yes, I had to write VB programs in VPC for school.... it can be done but its not fun :rolleyes: setting up the network in VPC is painless though all you have to do is click on the radio button in the set-up area and your done....... :)
     
  5. lmalave macrumors 68000

    lmalave

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    Chinatown NYC
    #5
    Actually, I just thought of a better solution. You can get very good performance if you use Windows Remote Desktop client. I work from home a lot on my iBook, and what I do is connect to a Windows XP Pro machine in the office. Is there a Windows 2000 or Windows XP Pro machine in your office that you can piggyback on? Then all you have to do is enable Terminal Services on that machine, and you will be able to connect to that machine from your iBook using the Windows Remote Desktop Client.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    I can't believe I didn't think of that, considering that I do it almost every day!
     
  7. kaizer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #7
    A big thank you to all those that replied.:)

    Err... How intolerably slow do you mean? I used to own a PII 2XXMhz with 96Mb of ram running Win98. Especially when running games (some years ago), I got machine freeze or worst blue screen of death! (Ahh... the nirvana of Mac OS X!)

    With this kinda of experience, do you all think I can stand the slowness of VPC?;)

    Most of the PC there runs Win 98 with some security software (there's a log on screen of somekind).

    What's the best recommendation?

    I have a PC running Win 98 (P4 I think) on my table gathering dust... How to piggy back it? What kinda software/hardware needed?

    Thanks again!
     
  8. Abraxsis macrumors 6502

    Abraxsis

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    Windows 2000 does not have terminal services. Windows 2000 Server does though, and Windows XP Pro is listed as "Remote Desktop Connection" not Terminal Services.
     

Share This Page