Running windows 3.1 or maybe 95 via DOSBox

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by joecool85, Oct 5, 2006.

  1. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #1
    I've heard it's possible to run windows 3.1 via DOSBox, anyone know how fast/slow it would be on my dual 2ghz G5? Also, is it possible to run win95 via DOSBox? I'll try it out as soon as I can find my win95 CD. Or win98, all I can find right now is my XP discs, and I highly doubt that would work. I might try it eventually anyway :)
     
  2. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #2
    Dosbox is a dos emulator, you can't install an operating system on it ...

    Your best option is Parallels, next to that is Qemu, until VMware release their Mac OS X virtualization program, then it will be VMware > Parallels > Qemu.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. joecool85 thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #4
    Actually you can. People install win 3.1 on it all the time, I just haven't done it myself yet.
     
  5. joecool85 thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #5
    alright, I'll have to give that a shot.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Am I the only one that noticed that is a PowerPC machine? It's Virtual PC or Q.
     
  7. joecool85 thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #7
    So? Big deal its PPC. I run DOSBox on it now, why wouldn't I be able to run DOSBox and install win 3.1?
     
  8. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #8
    I always thought Windows was just a program that ran in DOS like a shell anyways.
     
  9. joecool85 thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #9
    Bingo, it is. I just don't know if DOSBox would be fast enough for win95 thats all.
     
  10. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #10
    I have never used DOSBox my self but I have a PowerBook G4 1ghz and Q runs Windows NT 4.0 really well.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    Yeah it should work then. o_O
     

Share This Page