Rzar V3c iSync problems

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ozzy123, Dec 19, 2005.

  1. ozzy123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    #1
    I can't get to iSync my new verizon Razr V3c with the iSync program. I have the newest one installed. It finds my motorola device but can't find the razr it self. I'm trying to do so through bluetooth. Please help.
     
  2. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #2
    Verizon has a history of limiting their BlueTooth phones to prevent that sort of connection, and I know the Motorola V710 and E815 had that problem, so it's likely they did the same with the RAZR. I should have a RAZR of my own before too long, though not from Verizon, so I can try it, but you might look for a hack to apply to the phone to remove the block. Google might be your best friend for that one...

    jW
     
  3. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #3
    Can't you just connect it with a usb cable and use BitPim?

    ~e
     
  4. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    yea i hate to tell you this verizon is verizon and limits the bluetooth on it...
     
  5. leishan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    #5
    Just wondering, but is Verizon the only company that does this? Does Cingular limit BT also?
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    Then you know incorrectly my friend. I have the e815 and it works perfectly with iSync via BT right out of the box. No modifications or anything required.
     
  7. mdzwolf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    #7
    I have the RAZR with Cingular and Cingular does NOT limit the Bluetooth functionality. I can sync my address book and calendar as well as transfer ring tones and wallpapers. Verizon has disabled all bluetooth features except for the ablity to use a bluetooth headset I believe. At least that is what one of the Verizon people I talked to said, he said it was for security reasons. Ha, I think more like they want you to use their service to buy ringtones and wallpapers instead of uploading them to your phone for free. This is a main reason I switched from Verizon to Cingular. As others suggested there may be a way to hack the phone.
     
  8. _Matt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #8
    I have the Razr V3c from Verizon as well. Sadly, you pretty much can't do anything with it regarding file exchange with your mac. Verizon only lets you access the internet on your mac through bluetooth from your razr. Thats it.
     
  9. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #9
    Everybody keeps talking about Verizon's limit with BT on the RAZR but they do not limit it via USB cable. What's the big deal to connect the cable and then upload your ringtones and wallpapers via an application like BitPim?


    ~e
     
  10. ziutek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    CA
    #10
  11. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #11
    My roommate had to do the same thing for his cingular phone. It's not that the phones doesn't work, its that iSync doesn't have the correct setting/profile/or what ever for the phone.
     
  12. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #12
    Forget BT for a moment. I just got a V3c(verizon) and connected it via USB cable to my Mac. Neither "BitPim" or "DataPilot" would recongnize the phone.

    Am I doing something wrong?

    "DataPilot" did have it on the list of phones in the prefs but "BitPim" did not.

    I don't have Bluetooth at the moment so I'd like to transfer my ringtones and pic's via the USB cable.


    ~e
     
  13. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #13
    I connect my V3c via BitPim. I opened up the filesys.>Motorola>Shared>Ringtones and then I copied some small .MP3 clips I made but for what ever reason they don't show up in the phone. Even if I try to restart the phone. Is there a way to access it and assign them as my ringtones or am I doing something wrong?

    Seems, with my previous phone it was easier. BitPim recognized the phone and I went to the ringtone tab and then when i copied my .MP3's, it seem to do it's own conversion. Very easy.

    Any help, is appreciated. Thanks!

    ~e
     
  14. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #14
    Thats a load of crap. I just got it last night and transferred all my contacts, calendars, ringtones, and wallpapers over bluetooth. The file transfer works exactly as its supposed to and the reason it doesn't work with iSync out of the box is Apple's fault, not Verizon's. You can download a modified version of iSync from this thread that will allow your contacts and calendars to transfer.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=169023&highlight=modified+version+isync

    I bet "Matt" quoted above didn't turn the Bluetooth power on from the phone's menu.
     

Share This Page