S-Video output on Powerbook

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by dodonutter, Nov 8, 2005.

  1. dodonutter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Deep South UK
    #1
    I just went out and bought an s-video cable so i can connect my laptop up to my TV to watch DVDs on but when i got home and connected it up to my TV the picture was fine except it was in black and white which wasn't what i was expecting. Noticed that the output has 7 pins but the cable and tv input has only 4 so im assuming thars why theres no colour. Does anyone know how to get round this and get a decent quality signal (colour!) into my TV? Am i going to have to use a composite cable because i've heard the quality of s-video is much better than composite or does that not matter if the output is s-video. If i managed to get hold of a 7pin svideo to SCART cable (if they exist) would that work?

    Sorry for all the questions and thanks for any input
     
  2. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    Sounds like the problem is on the TV end.

    I've used an s-video to composite adapter with good results. That might work for you.
     
  3. psychlonex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    #3
    Did your laptop come with the s-video -> rca adapter? Most powerbooks come with them, not so sure about ibooks. Basically any X-book with s-video should've shipped with it. Then you just plug that into your laptop and then run an rca cable into your tv's video input. You'll need a seperate rca for sound. Mine works fine this way, and has good quality. I don't have a tv with s-video in though so can't test that.

    psx
     
  4. dodonutter thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Deep South UK
    #4
    Yeah i have that adapter but i bought the s-video cable thinking that would do the trick. think im gonna have to go get a composite /rca/ co-axial cable whatever they're called and i'll put the sound through my soundsticks so thats not a problem. I was sort of hoping some1 would pop up saying "Your an idiot, tick so-and-so checkbox and you will have colour" but guessing thats not gonna happen

    Thanks for the feed back guys (or gals)
     
  5. thepigstye macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    #5

Share This Page