Safari 4 Tips and Tricks

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rdowns, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #1
    Posts are starting to get very repetitive so I though a thread for the most common issues, so far, could be easily found.

    I was going to go find all the Terminal 'hacks' and other issues and post them, but I'm too lazy. I'll post one to start.

    To restore the blue progress bar. open Terminal and type these 2 commands.

    defaults write com.apple.Safari DebugSafari4IncludeToolbarRedesign -bool NO


    defaults write com.apple.Safari DebugSafari4LoadProgressStyle -bool NO


    Then restart Safari. In addition to the blue progress bar, the reload icon is removed from next to the RSS feed button and you now have a Stop/Reload icon to place on your menu.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #2
    Set Your Own Top Sites

    Open up a tab with Top Sites and then in a new window open the page you want. Pull up the window with Top Sites open and lick Edit. Then drag that the website image (to the left in the address bar) into the Top Sites and drop it there. Then click the Pin and it will lock it on. The Close or Pin sign will not appear at first but once you restart Top Sites it should be there.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Just curious, did they remove the progress bar or is it a bug?
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #4
    I hope they did, because I like it better this way. hopefully in the final release they'll give you the option.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    This is helpful. I think I'll add the progress bar back temporarily and see what I like better.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #6
    Cool. My Safari now has the look of the old one but the horsepower of the new one... thanks.
     
  7. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  8. macrumors newbie

    .max

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #8
  9. macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #9
    I just did it and it works great! Thanks for the tip.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #10
    get all previews for bookmarks

    it would be awesome if you could import lots of bookmarks and safari fetches for all the preview image. is there a way to do that?

    i don't understand that at least the actual website loads in the cover flow, when browsing through the bookmarks. only after a click on it the preview gets generated. any idea?
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    voicebox

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    London UK
    #11
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #12
    I would really like the option to make "Top Sites" my home page, as in when I click the home button. Is there a way to do that?
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #13

    Type this in the preference for the home page :

    topsites://
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #14
    Thanks. I like this much better than iGoogle.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #15
    Just a quick question - if you change the tabs to the tab below, do you lose the new button to add a new tab? I'm guessing you do, but would be good if not.

    Moving the reload button back would be good too - as a web designer, I'm always reloading pages after editing pages, and its taking a bit of getting used to now that its moved.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #16
    You do lose the "new tab" button when you go back to the tab bar at the bottom... looks identical to Safari 3.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #17
    But it lacks the very only option that I want, namely getting back the blue progress bar, doesn't it? The trick is in there:

    And yes, even if I have to bear the odd spinning wheel in the tabs and the ancient Reload and Add buttons (you'll find the buttons in Safari's "View - Custom Toolbar" menue after doing the terminal trick). Maybe I'll change my opinion later ;-)

    If somebody finds a possibility to get back the blue bar without having to buy the odd wheel in the same package please open a new thread :) Thxinadvnc
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #18
    Did you know you could also refresh with Cmd+R? Just thought that might be handy for you since you're already typing and editing crap..
     
  19. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #19
    Double-clicking in the open space of the old tab bar brought up a new tab.

    Also Command+T is a thousand times easier.

    Command+R is a thousand times easier.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #20
    Tallest Skil makes web-browsing up to 2 thousand times easier! Thanks! :)
     
  21. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #21
    Tallest, looks like you've got a new fan!! :p
     
  22. thread starter macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #22

    Fixed that for you. :p
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Blighty
    #23
    You could try right-clicking the bookmark folders and choosing "Open in Tabs".

    Might take a little while if you have a lot of folders, but once they have all loaded their previews will be added to Cover flow.
     
  24. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    This works fine, but when I restart Safari, it clears all the ones that I added manually. How do I get them to ACTUALLY stay?

    Hey, now. iMacmatician follows my philosophy. Others agree with me on a regular basis.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    #25
    Thanks for that. I had some trouble with it though. When I put the file in I didnt rename it back to the original name and I had to keep dragging them in to get it to work. Safari wasn't even working for a bit, I dunno what the hell I did but it was messing up.

    Am I the only one who doesnt like the blue progress bar? Thats the one thing I HATED about safari at times. A web page would basically be fully loaded, and I would still see that dumb ass blue bar at like 90% just sitting there. It bugged the piss out of me.

    EDIT: GREAT...... now I just changed one ofthe preferences to "view webless ct" or something like that, just to see what it was. NOW my safari wont load. I keep getting an error message saying "safari had to quit unexpectedly...... now what?!?!?!?! uuuugggghhhhh
     

Share This Page