Safari 6 cache

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by kenmiles, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    Can anyone help please.
    I have upgraded to Mountain Lion and Safari 6 but no longer see the command to empty the cache in the menu.
    Thanks in advance, Ken,
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #2
    To clear the cache go to safari prefs/advance and turn on developer. In developer you can scroll down and see it.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Thanks for that, I would NEVER have found that command.

    Regards, Ken.
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    I found it by accident...Why did they hide it under the DEV section I wonder? Emptying your browser cache is a common operation. All you get from the menu without the DEV section active is re-set Safari, which is far more aggressive...Odd.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #5
    From Safari Help Menu:

    Clear history
    Clears the list of webpages you viewed. Also empties caches, removes website icons, and clears the list of recent searches. Website icons are small graphics that help identify sites on the Internet. You see them in the address and search field, the bookmarks list, and other places. You can see your recent searches by clicking the magnifying glass at the left end of the address and search field when it’s empty.


    The crazy thing is that there is another "Emplty Cache" in the Developers menu, as well.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #6
    Doesn't the developer option only empty the page-cache, since that's what web developers will be most interested in clearing to ensure Safari fetches fresh content?
     
  7. macrumors 603

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #7
    I wondered this also, they didn't need to change that locations as the file size can get large or become corrupted.

    ----------

    I believe so.
     

Share This Page