Safari & AJAX - any issues?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by c-Row, Sep 13, 2006.

  1. c-Row macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    German news page DER SPIEGEL (www.spiegel.de) recently updated their site, now incorporating some AJAX functionality as well (or at least it looks so) to browse through the news entries of a given ressort. Those buttons work fine in every browser except Safari. :confused:

    Does Safari has some problems with AJAX, or does it come down to bad coding? What are your experiences?
     
  2. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #2
    Safari doesn't have problems with AJAX, developers who don't do things have problems with both though.
     
  3. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #3
    Two of websites from "work" uses ajax, it works fine in Safari.
     
  4. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    So it all comes down to lazy web coders... thanks. :cool:
     
  5. godrifle macrumors regular

    godrifle

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Thomas, KY
    #5
    Exactly. I'm developing in PHP/MySQL with AJAX-based sortable datagrid columns and Sarari gives me no problems there at all. Now, CSS is another story (IE 6 is still the very worst). :eek:
     
  6. Knox Administrator

    Knox

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    What page on the spiegel site do you think AJAX is being used? I can't see anything in the default javascript includes (although they are a bit of a mess).

    There was a small bug with the AJAX implemention in early versions of Safari that stopped you requesting the same URL more than once without reloading the page, but other than that I haven't had any problems with it.
     
  7. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    I thought the browsing where it says "Blättern" within the smaller News articles (at the right of the larger "headline" news in the lower part of the site) would be done with AJAX, but it might just be a simple JS snippet instead. However, it still doesn't work in Safari.
     
  8. Knox Administrator

    Knox

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Ah that bit, no, just looks like a Javascript show/hide by altering the CSS. For me, it works the same in Safari 2.0.4 and Firefox at least.
     
  9. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    Strange... Safari on my MBP can't do the switching. Oh well, as long as AJAX works as intended.

    Thanks for checking out. :)
     
  10. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #10
    Is your Javascript turned off?
     
  11. c-Row thread starter macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    No, it's active. However, it seems they fixed it.
     

Share This Page