safari and exposé

Discussion in 'macOS' started by exeterbohemian, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. exeterbohemian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #1
    today i was browsing around on safari (as i so often do) and noticed something quite intriguing that i can only imagine must be some sort of flaw in the interface between safari and exposé. seeing as how i'm not a fan of 'tabbed' browsing, i'll generally have at least three or four safari windows open at any given time. that being the case, having exposé at my disposal is quite useful. however, using exposé when safari is the only open application, all of the windows shrink and line up horizontally instead of utilizing the whole screen. so with something like twenty windows open, it starts to look kind of ridiculous. i mean, i'm not really complaining, since this is really more of an 'aesthetic' concern with how exposé chooses to format itself or whatnot. but still, it feels a little off to me. has anyone else noticed this?
     
  2. jkballer23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    #2
    yeah, i noticed it too. But, not often since I prefer to use tabbed browsing:)
     
  3. GITANAJAVA macrumors regular

    GITANAJAVA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Have ibrik, will travel.
    #3
    I don't use tabbed browsing, but my Safari/Expose reveal has never arranged pages horizontally unless I only had two pages up. I don't know the real issue or answer, but if any of the pros drop by, they will!
    Hang in there for a proper solution, wish I could do more. :confused:
     
  4. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #4
    You don't use tabbed browsing! Out! Out! We don't serve your kind here. Are you sure it's Safari? I bet it's Internet Explorer.
    Just kidding.....Just kidding.....

    Where was I.... Ah yes.

    If you still have the default shortcuts, (F11=Show Desktop, F10=Show all windows in current application, F9=Show all windows) Then....

    For some reason, F10 (Show all windows in current application) arranges all of the windows horizontally. I don't know why....
    If you just have Safari windows open, use F9 (Show all windows) It arranges them more efficiently.

    Wait did you say you didn't use tabbed browsing?
     
  5. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    The solution:

    Slightly Change the size of the windows in Safari. When every window is the same size expose lines them all up evenly.

    Resizing the windows by at least ONE PIXEL will solve this.
     
  6. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #6
    That didn't work for me.
     
  7. exeterbohemian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #7
    i tried doing 'show all windows in current application' and 'show all windows', and both still yielded the same horizontal arrangement...

    yes, problem solved. :)

    although the fact that safari and exposé act like this when the windows are the same size (which they generally are when i'm using command-n to spawn them) is still somewhat puzzling to me... hm.:rolleyes:
     
  8. Sogo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    #8
    Ah yes i know this issue. To be honest with you, this just happens randomly. I know about the same size thing, but that does not work, for me at least. Oh, and why i say randomly, i mean rarley.
     
  9. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #9
    What version of Mac OS are you running, exeterbohemian? :)
     
  10. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    Its not random at all. The reason it happens (As already stated) is because windows are the exactly the same size in exactly the same place on screen. This is due to the fact that Exposé arranges windows depending where they are on screen in relation to one another. As a rule, all windows must be shrunken proportionately. So if you think about it, if multiple windows are stacked exactly on top of each other (In the same place) they should be in exactly the same place when you hit F11... But obviously they're programmed it so it doesn't do that, and what a more simple way to fix that than to move the window to the right or left? :)

    To stop that then:
    Use tabbed browsing
    OR
    Resize at least one windows by at least one pixel
    OR
    Move one of the windows one pixel or more.

    ;)
     
  11. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #11
    OY! That did it for me!

    Wiser word have never been said;) (unless it was something I said)
     
  12. GITANAJAVA macrumors regular

    GITANAJAVA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Have ibrik, will travel.
    #12
    Oh, spank me! ;)
     
  13. exeterbohemian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #13
    10.4.5
     
  14. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #14
    Never mind. The problem was solved.
     
  15. Mac OS X Ocelot macrumors 6502a

    Mac OS X Ocelot

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #15
    I have never found anything more annoying than tabbed browsing. How inefficient.

    That said, I know of his problem, but am not bothered by it since I only use the F9 and F11 Exposé features. I don't find it hard to pick out the Safari page I want out of a group containing several different Safari pages, my Adium contact list and maybe an IM window and/or a window or two from another app.

    I do hope they fix this for you though :)
     

Share This Page