Safari/Apple, and Flash

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gilliard, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #1
    Hi all, Im fed up with not being able to watch stuff on my mac (imac intel 10.6.8 24inch) because of flash, I have various browsers and sometimes i get you need latest flash player to watch, well i did have the latest and on one site it was suggested i downgrade to flash because apple wont support it, witch i tried sometimes it works and others it don't, well you know what i'm gonna ask, what can i do so what ever site i visit if it has video of any kind my mac will play it, do you guys have any suggestions, having such a lovely computer and constantly having to source other means to use it is crap, i've been dare i say it tempted to go from mac to windows.
    Apple have changed for the worse over the past few years. :(
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    For Flash-related issues:
    • Find your Flash version and make sure it's the latest version available. Never install or update Flash from a pop-up on a website. Always go to Adobe's site to get Flash or updates.
    • Install ClickToFlash (Safari), Flashblock (Firefox) or FlashBlock (Chrome) to control which Flash content plays on websites.
    • Try using the YouTube HTML5 Video Player to watch YouTube videos, when available. (May impact fullscreen viewing. See link for details.) Some have reported better performance with HTML5, while some have reported worse. Try it and find out what works best for you.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Thraun

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    #3
    First off, please try the occasional period in your paragraph-long run-on sentences.

    Second, it's not up to Apple to support Flash, it's up to Adobe to build a proper version of flash that will run on Macs. I keep my Flash plugin more or less up-to-date, and I've never had any issues. So perhaps you're in the minority here.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #4
    i have removed all flash plugins and what not on all my macs. Safari has been snappy ever since I uninstalled everything related to flash.

    No reason for me to watch videos on the net anymore. Now I have time to move around and have fresh air.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #5
    Gilliard, what I've done is removed Flash from Safari and installed Chrome. When I need flash, I use Chrome. When I don't, I use Safari. When I come to a site in Safari that unexpectedly needs flash, I just copy and past the address into Chrome.

    Safari is much better behaved this way, and I've never gotten a message about an incorrect Flash version.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #6
    I do the same. I found this Applescript somewhere (I think maybe Daring Fireball) and use it to launch Chrome with the frontmost Safari URL link in a new Chrome tab. Works perfectly.

    I launch the AS from Alfred, but you could save it as an app and launch it from the Dock or whatever also.

    Code:
    tell application "Safari" to set currentURL to URL of current tab of window 1
    tell application "Google Chrome"
    	activate
    	if not (exists window 1) then make new window
    	tell window 1
    		if URL of active tab is "chrome://newtab/" then
    			set URL of active tab to currentURL
    		else
    			make new tab with properties {URL:currentURL}
    		end if
    	end tell
    end tell
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #7
    Thanks guys, its all to confusing, reloaded latest flash from adobe, then when i visit adobe after install of latest flash the adobe site still says i need latest flash to view content, another thing it says is java must be enabled, please forgive my ignorance on this sought of stuff, now some time ago i disabled all cookies from everyone, so does that have an effect on my problem.
    Thanks for your patience.
    On another note is there some photo program that will work on a mac other than the god awful iphoto, i cant afford aperture, any suggestions.
    Cheers gilliard ;)
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #8
    It is quite possible completely blocking all cookies is causing your issue. Just enable cookies and try it out to test.

    You might try out Picasa for photo management. Free from Google.
     
  9. macrumors G3

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the lens, UK
    #9
    This is exactly what I do to.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    #10
    I'd recommend just installing ClickToPlugin instead of outright uninstalling Flash. On a few sites, if you set your user agent to iPad, they'll give you an html5 version of the video.

    For what it's worth, I've found that Safari has been by far the best browser for playing Flash, Chrome and Firefox get laggy input and terrible frame rates because of some horrible sandboxing and CPU throttling policy.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #11
    Thanks again, lastly is click to flash safe as it says this... (Install extensions only from sources you trust. Extensions can modify the appearance and behavior of Safari, and access your private information at websites.)
    cheers gilliard ;)
     
  12. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Yes, ClickToFlash is safe to use. It's been around for a long time and has a good reputation.
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #13
    That will work fine, but there is an advantage to not having Flash installed for Safari. Many pages that use Flash will detect you do not have Flash installed, then serve up a non Flash (HTML5) version of the page. Similar to what you are doing by showing the iPad user agent.

    If you have Flash installed in Safari, even with ClickToPlugin, the web page still detects Flash and attempts to serve up the Flash version... then ClickToPlugin will block the Flash display. Not the same or as functional as having the HTML5 version served up.

    Try it out and you will see the difference.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #14
    Thanks once again i will give things a go.
    Keep doin what your doin cheers.
    gilliard :)
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #15
    I'm mainly used Chrome on my MBP but for a few days now I've been trying to stick with Safari.. it's all updated and has flash as far as I know (I've never messed with it except for the occasional trying it out for a day or two/keeping it updated)

    ..no problems as far I can tell so far.
     

Share This Page