Safari changes sites to japanese addresses automatically!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by shiv, Oct 31, 2006.

  1. shiv macrumors member

    shiv

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #1
    Hi,
    I just moved to Japan last week. At the moment, we are piggybacking a connection from someone's internet connection in our apartment building. When I try, for example, www.google.com, it automatically goes to www.google.co.jp - it seems I cannot type in google.com without getting the japanese site showing up. This is the same with some other sites as well.

    Anyone know what this could be?? Is this normol...?

    Thanks for any tips or solutions,

    Shiv
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Yes, it's normal. It has nothing to do with Safari. Either Google and/or your ISP (my guess would be Google) are redirecting you to the Japanese versions of the websites because you have a Japanese IP address. The idea is that it reduces cultural hegemony on the internet. That is, otherwise, Japanese and British and so on would have to do everything as google.co.jp and yahoo.co.uk or whatever. So sites detect your address and feed you to your country's homepage. Except of course that in your case, you don't read (it seems) your country's language.

    Many sites let you pick a country on the splash page and then save it. Otherwise also if you have accounts with the sites (e.g. if you have a GMail account with Google), when you are logged in with your account, it should override the country bias and take you to the national site for the nation you lived in when you made the account....
     
  3. shiv thread starter macrumors member

    shiv

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #3
    That makes so much sense!
    My gmail works fine. That's one thing my wife was worried about, that the gmail would also start redirecting us to a japanese version.

    Thanks for the info, that saves us the concern of it being something else!
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    You might also be able to find proxy service in the US (which means that you act through a secondary server with an IP address in the US or wherever, so that everyone thinks you're coming from there also), but it probably would not be free. I can't think of an easy way to make your computer look like it is logging in from the US or another country otherwise, though... good luck!
     
  5. shiv thread starter macrumors member

    shiv

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #5
    I think the healthiest solution at this point is we have to start really picking up on our kanji!

    Thanks for the help and tips!
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    By the way, I visited your PBase. Nice work! :) I hope you get to use some of those lenses while you are over there! Ganbatte, ne! :)
     
  7. seanf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    As others have said Google always redirects you to the Google Country site based on your location. If you don't want this use www.google.com/ncr and you'll always go to the .com site.

    Sean :)
     
  8. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #8
    Change Mac OS X to Japanese and you'll soon become accustomed to it--sink or swim, ne?
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    I'm actually tempted to do that just to practice my Japanese. :D
     
  10. Calvinatir macrumors 6502

    Calvinatir

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    LA
    #10
    change your DNS to a US DNS server..i.e. 4.2.2.2 or 4.2.2.1 they are both US DNS Servers run by Verizon
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Oooh, I didn't think about this. Is this sufficient? And will these DNS's work even when you are not using Verizon as an ISP, for instance?
     
  12. Calvinatir macrumors 6502

    Calvinatir

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    LA
    #12
    Yes they will, they are standard DNS servers
     
  13. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #13
    Remember where certain things, such as System Preferences, are. It may be important to returning to a language you know well. ;)
     

Share This Page