Safari CPU usage

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by saabmp3, Feb 10, 2003.

  1. saabmp3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #1
    Has anyone else noticed that safari seems to eat up ALL of your spare CPU cycles on some pages. This has been happening on my computer ever since the beta v51 came out. It happens on completly random webpages, so it is not code specific. The only way to get the CPU usage down to zero again is to close the window and open a new one.

    BEN
     
  2. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #2
    I'm running v.58 , the unreleased on and Its still the same, it comsumes around 40% on my imac g4, 700mhz,

    As for your problem, I think it maybe just the beta your using
     
  3. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #3
    I'm using beta v51 and while looking at this page its only using 2.6% of my CPU. Im on a Beige G3 500mhz
     
  4. thegeek187 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    ny
    #4
    right about safari is using .40% of the CPU


    im on a 12incher by the way and its great :)
     
  5. DakotaGuy macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #5
    Okay is it 40% of the CPU or .40% because those percentages are MUCH different?

    I have no idea how much it uses on my iMac or iBook, but it is smooth, fast and very fluid on both, so it can't be too much of a CPU hog.
     
  6. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #6
    safari on my system, during a page reload, tops out at 47.7%, while internet explorer on my system runs a high 99.5% briefly. i think you're having problems...

    :)
    pnw
     
  7. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #7
    Or your running it on my 233 Bondi Blue. :D
     
  8. hui__lim macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    #8
    Im new to the Mac world. How do you check out the CPU usage for the mac?
     
  9. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #9
    Go into the process viewer application located in the Utilities folder
     
  10. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #10
    Or you can open Terminal (the same place) and type "top".
     
  11. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #11
    With just this forum page open and not doing anything CPU uses drops to 0, but as soon as I move the mouse over a link (the ones that change colors when you move over them with the mouse) the usage goes up to between 10% and 20%.
     

Share This Page