Safari GM?

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, May 27, 2003.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    There are reports that Safari v78 is Gold Master (GM) and have been seen in the wild. According to MacBidouille each version distributed to seeders had a unique id associated with it... to help find the source of the ongoing leaks.
     
  2. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #2
    GM or not, the development goes on anyway...

    Every new release of Safari is a good thing, but the GM designation is essentially meanginless to me--no more than a minor item of interest. (The resulting appearance of Safari as the default on new Macs would be a nice step, though.)

    Before GM:

    Safari is stable, full-featured, and free. But will still periodically get further enhancements, features and fixes.

    After GM:

    Safari is stable, full-featured, and free. But will still periodically get further enhancements, features and fixes.

    Conclusion: it hardly matters what does or doesn't change for the GM. Development will go on, and Apple will keep listening to feedback. GM doesn't mean the product is "final" because software NEVER needs to cease evolving.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    hmmm... I hope they fix a few bugs in it in this GM - i can open emails but not reply to them
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #4
    Before GM, software is evolving rapidly, when it becomes GM, ie version 1.0, the path is set and the programme won't be updated till version 1.1 which will be months afer the initial release.

    So, I'm happy with it being a beta (ie heaps of changes and updates). But as nagromme pointed out, it really doesn't make that much difference. We've already got the programme.


    James.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    West Lafayette, IN
    #5
    Actually, it does matter for some of us. Several websites, aka wellsfargo, do not let you log on to secure portions of their site if you're not using one of their "approved browers". They refuse to "approve" a browser until it's out of beta testing.

    EDIT: Okay, evidently now you can log onto wellsfargo with Safari. Guess they changed that rule.

    Physicsnerd
    ----------------------
    "Even logic must give way to physics" - Spock
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #6
    The Safari GM also says:

    1.0 Beta 3 (v78 NIP: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX)
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay area
    #7
    Wells Fargo started to accept Safari after the last update (I believe). I'm not sure of the reason. I know that I sent them several emails asking them to upgrade their website to be compatible with Safari.:)
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #8
    Wells Fargo website sucks for a lot of different browsers, Mac or otherwise. 1 or 2 years ago when they changed everything to work basically only with IE for Windows, some of their customers left over it. They are slowly realising that to compete in the market, they have to have a viale online presence. They have just been VERY slow to figure it out :mad:
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    #9
    Download safari enhancer, it basically allows you to spoof other browsers through the debug menu.

    It is a very useful tool.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #10
    If you do that it doesn't address the problem. That function is built-in to Opera as well. What would happen if every Opera user set it to say it was IE. MS would still be the dominant browser based upon hits. To get companies to support other browsers they need to see users using them, and masking what you really use does not accomplish that.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #11
    im glad they put a unique id in there, somone is gonna have their ass handed to them if this is out on the web.

    iJon
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #12
    well to bad its already spreading like crazy, I feel for the guys who will lose there ADC connection pass..........dumbmass'
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Dale Sorel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    #13
    Sorry folks, the v78 that's available is a fake.

    Old news ;)
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    really?

    I have it, and I noticed a few features that weren't there before:

    Like extra bookmark options "edit name" "edit contents" when you right-click on the bookmark bar items.

    Maybe these were here earlier and I didn't notice... discuss.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    #15
    it's in the v74 already
     

    Attached Files:

  16. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #16
    how did you come to this conclusion?

    iJon
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Dale Sorel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    #17
    Because it ain't got stuff it's supposed to i.e. spellcheck sticking and option for bookmark folders.
     
  18. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #18
    so someone just stripped the safari app, can you even do that?

    iJon
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    macdong

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #19
    i played around with it a bit.
    And yes, a window can be easily created in MainMenu.nib and you can link the "About" menu item to the window.
    Now when i choose "About" Safari shows the window i made with "2.0 beta 3 (v88)" on it.
    Who wants Safari 2? :D
     
  20. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #20
    i gotcha, what about the unique id?

    iJon
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    macdong

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #21

    I am not part of the seeding program, so I have no idea if the format of the id is correct.
    And even if the format is correct, it may as well be generated.
    Perhaps Apple did this on purpose?
    That's beyond me :)
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #22

Share This Page