Safari is making me MAD

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by wrldwzrd89, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #1
    Why do I get messages from Safari on seemingly every other link I click in these forums saying "Safari could not load any data from this location"? Refreshing usually works, but I've gotten the same error twice to five times in a row. What's going on here?

    :mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    i thought that they had fixed that but with safari, guess not

    a surefire way to get rid of it would be to use Camino or FF (i prefer the former myself)

    i suppose you could empty the caches or reset safari to see if that does any good, but i doubt it, i used to get that every now and then, but not as bad as some people report

    sorry dude
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    Just Safari? Firefox or another browser works OK? Also: which version of Safari (I assume the latest)? I'm on 1.2.4 (was using developer beta of 1.3 and loved it but wanted PithHelmet, so went back to 1.2), and I see no problems on this site - other sites, yes, which make me wonder why Safari 1.3 hasn't been released yet, but nothing here.
     
  4. mcgarry macrumors 6502a

    mcgarry

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    #4
    I used to get this ... I found a workaround on the official Apple support boards, I think, that involved setting the DNS servers on the clients on my LAN (I used the LAN address of my router, and 127.0.0.1). That fixed almost all of it.

    But since I went to 10.3.7 I have never had this problem, and I thought that was the general experience
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Yes the problem is a bug in Safari (or was it OS X?) where DNS queries time out ultra-quickly when dealing with slow to respond DNS servers. Supposedly this was fixed quite a few revs ago of 10.3 (or was it a Safari update?).

    Re-apply the combo updater. Try mcgarry's suggestion.
     
  6. mcgarry macrumors 6502a

    mcgarry

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    #6
    This is kind of spooky, but I have noticed links in this forum behaving oddly tonight ... just tonight, but it probably started before my previous post, I just hadn't thought anything of it. I never have to click more than twice, and it only happens sometimes. Odd, but since it isn't happening anywhere else, I don't think much of it.

    Anyway, if your problem is somehow the old DNS issue, my workaround is probably printed innumerable other places on this forum and elsewhere. But to be clear, I am talking about going into your network control panel and manually specifying 1) your router's LAN-side IP address and 2) 127.0.0.1 as DNS servers. Your router should still have real DNS server values of its own, of course. This is not a fix, just a workaround. It took 10.3.7 to fix the problem, for me. In any case, this worked in the interim for me when I had the old problem.
     
  7. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #7
    Perhaps fixing it for some broke it for others?

    I rarely had a problem with it before 10.3.7 (once in a thousand click or so?) Since 10.3.8, it seems to happen about once in 50 or so - sometimes more often.
     
  8. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    It only does it at certain times of the day. Right now, it's fine. When I posted that thread was a different story altogether. I experience it most often here (maybe because I spend a significant % of my time on the Internet here).
     
  9. fjs08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #9
    I got that all the time too, once I updated to 10.3.8. Now I don't get it anymore. I just use FireFox. I've been converted. Camino is nice, more mac-like, but for some reason, FireFox seems more polished. I dislike the little folder's on my bookmark bar too. Firefox is quick, stable, and well, it works. No frustration at all. I do hope Safari works out their problems with another OSX update, and/or Tiger.

    Still beats Windows stuff hands down. I started up my wifes Dell (I can't get her to use a mac---yet!!!) and updated her MSN Messenger. Very nice too. Little box with tabs for her hotmail (which is getting tougher to get to each day-but that's another story), news and Today type items. Anyway, the machine went to sleep and when she got up today, and I went to show her the MSN box, of course, it was gone---like gone. I just chuckled and went back to the Mac.

    BUT speaking of this MSN type info page, boy wouldn't it be nice if Apple had a similar one to MSN, or better yet, Yahoo. Dialog center, with tabs, with quick access to our mail, news, stocks, sports, etc

    Frank
     
  10. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #10
    I had this problem intermittently until the 10.3.7 update; I haven't seen it since.
     
  11. Southbridge macrumors regular

    Southbridge

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Astoria, NY
    #11
    I never use Safari Honestly. Not when you can use Firefox. Firefox is my best friend :)
     
  12. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    I get this too with Safari. It only seemed to happen for me after 10.3.8. It seems, for me at least, the last couple of updates haven't been that great.

    I have noticed as well Safari's inability to open sites seems to occur at certain times of the day (late afternoon/early evening). It's really very annoying and so I usually just forget about using the web during that time.

    I'm tempted to go with FireFox, but will wait for Tiger first to see if that corrects the problem. If not I'm taking the advice from people here and other forums and going with FireFox.
     
  13. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #13
    This is, at most, a minor annoyance. It only gets maddening when it occurs several times in a row. For right now, I'm just going to put up with it and hope Safari 2.0 in Tiger fixes it. Although I advocate Firefox use on Windows, and I think that, for some people, the Mac version of Firefox is the best choice, I don't like Firefox for Mac very much (nor do I like Camino) - so I won't use it.
     
  14. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #14
    The Firefox interface under Mac OSX feels a bit too flakey to be used exclusively. One of the strengths of Safari is that it feels more solid. It is hard to expain.
     
  15. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    I can assure you that Safari does not change from hour to hour. Many sites are down for updates at certain times of the day. Some may be may be difficult to access due to the traffic on the network. But, you say that other browsers can access your favorite site while Safari can't? Look at your cache seetings. Firefox may be accessing your cache rather than your favorite site when it is not accessible.
     
  16. Southbridge macrumors regular

    Southbridge

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Astoria, NY
    #16
    um... because it's an Apple product, and we only use Apple products here.

    Apple toilet cleaner? YES PLEASE!
     
  17. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #17
    I like the Safari interface better, and the way Safari does bookmarks better, and the way that Safari's tab bar looks and the fact that it is smaller than on FireFox, and although it isn't quite as fast as FireFox it is fast enough and I like the the interface that much better.

    I do have FireFox installed.

    And yknow what? Just to mess all of you up... I use Lynx too. So there. :p
     
  18. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #18
    One would think that Apple can get this right by now. Have done the DNS thing, and it seems to have helped. Though it still happens time to time still.
     

Share This Page