Safari Issue on College Network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by yellow5, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. yellow5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    #1
    My girlfriend is having trouble with her Safari. When she goes to a website, everything loads but the images. They don't come up as the generic blue question marks, they just don't show up.

    As a "quick fix" I had her download Firefox, which works.
    Here's a screenshot of her problem.


    [​IMG]

    She's on a college dorm network which I though might be the problem. But this issue came out of nowhere, and I'm also using Tiger and Safari on the same network with no issues whatsoever.

    I've already had her "empty cache" and "reset safari" with no improvments.

    Does anybody have any ideas on what her issue might be and how to fix it?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #2
    Does she have any internet acceleration software installed? Sometimes they can do these kinds of things to make web pages load quicker. If not, then I would reinstall Safari from the Tiger Installation DVD. You may need to download Pacifist to extract the Safari installer off the Tiger DVD.
     
  3. aalberto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    #3
    ... or continue to use Firefox.

    Personally (and I'm coming from a Windows environment), I'm leery as far as using any browser that is included with an operating system. Myself, I'm using Netscape 7.2, which I have used on my PCs, because I like many of its features (interface looks and behaves the same across both platforms). After reading through these forums, I see that people have problems with Safari; I refuse to use software that doesn't work, hence my decision to use a different browser.
     
  4. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #4
    Try:

    Safari>Preference>Appearance..Make sure display images is checked.
    :confused:
     
  5. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    I just tried unchecking it on my machine and I get what the OP had in the screenshot. Looks like that was the problem.
     
  6. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #6
    I'm not sure how far you'll get with that kinda mindset. No software is perfect.
     
  7. yellow5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    #7
    Thanks! This worked perfectly.

    I could have sworn I played with every option in Safari, but I musta missed that one. Thanks again!
     
  8. aalberto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    #8
    I guess I should have worded it differently - that made me sound arrogant....

    What I meant was that I prefer to use software from other companies rather than what comes in the OS if it is more stable.
     
  9. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #9
    I never had a problem with Safari ever. Apple isn't like Microsoft. Safari may be included with Mac OS X, but Mac OS X can function perfectly without Safari as its not needed to run the Finder like Explorer is for Windows.

    Personally I tried FireFox, and yeah it may be slightly quicker, but doesn't have some of the built in OS X features that Safari does. Until FireFox gets it right, I refuse to use it.
     

Share This Page