Safari massive CPU hog

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by sziehr, Jun 18, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    so while running safari it has a helper running called safari networking it using 99 to 100 cpu even when no browser window is open. I have reported this bug. But i was wondering if any one else has this issue or if i am alone.
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    Nope. Safari Networking on mine is 0.0% , obviously nothing near your 99%
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #3
    I made a fresh account it seems to be perfectly fine in the new account. This is tied to a faulty setting brought over with the upgrade instresting.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    Sounds like it. Glad it's working now.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #5
    Which plist did you have to remove to get this to return to normal?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #6
    i'd like to know this also?
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #7
    As he wrote, he created a new account, this includes a new
    /Users/NewBoringUserName/Library/Preferences/
    directory.

    And Safari created obviously a new cache.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #8
    Okay so how would one clear out's Safari cache in 10.9?
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    Mine just started

    Mine went to 99 just yesterday and I've been running 10.9 since release. Any fix besides new account yet?
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #10
    This worked for me.

    I tried deleting all my data from safari, but it didn't seem to fix it. I looked in the activity monitor to find out where the files the Safari Networking was hiding it's plists and I found them in:
    /Users/t-rexosaur/Library/Caches/com.apple.Safari/fsCachedData/
    I moved all the files to my desktop to be sure it was okay and It stopped the problem and now everything is back to normal. I deleted all the files since. Everything is working fine.

    Sounds like a bad file stuck in your cached data. Hope this works for everyone else.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #11
    Also a Problem for me

    Thanks t-rexosaur

    This problem 'chewed-up' 4GB of my small monthly broadband allowance before I tracked it down and cleared the caches.

    A great help.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    #12
    Clear cache from within Safari

    Enable 'Develop' mode in Safari (Safari -> Preferences -> Advanced -> check 'Show Develop menu in menu bar')

    Under 'Develop' menu option, click on 'Empty Caches'
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #13
    This fixed it for me but do you know what gets deleted with this cache?
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #14
    It uses 100cpu again? :(
     

Share This Page