Safari - New Tab Button

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wizwaz3, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #1
    I just downloaded the new Safari 3 Beta and I can't figure out how to get my "New Tab" button back. What do I do??? :confused:
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
  3. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    Just curious, why don't you use command + T, to create a new tab?
     
  4. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    Since the "new tab" button requires a hack, I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't work on Safari 3. It'll likely take a little while for developers to figure out a way to do it again.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    drater

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    I know you can use ":apple: + click or T" to open up a new tab. But is there a way to just click a link and have it open in a new tab? for instance if there was a link in here like www.randomlink.com, and I clicked it, it would open in a new tab. can it do that?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #6
    Hold down the :apple: key when you click the link
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    drater

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    not to be rude, but I said I knew that...I'm lazy, I just want to click, and BAM! new tab.
     
  8. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #8
    same old firefox/camino
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #9
    I never actually had to "hack" anything. I just remember being able to put it on the toolbar, but I can't figure out how to now...
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #10
    If you have a Mighty Mouse and the scroll ball is set to "Button 3" in the Keyboard and Mouse preferences you can click the scroll ball on a link and it will automatically open the link in a new tab. Works great!!
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #11
    Safari Stand and a separate hack simply called Safari Buttons were the only ways to get a tab button in Safari 3, as far as I know. Stand also allows 'single window mode' so links always open in new tabs.
     
  12. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12
    i thought safari stand will not work in safari 3 yet?
     
  13. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #13
    Yes, the only simple way to add a "New Tab" button to Safari was to use a third-party hacking app like SafariButtons or Ollie's Tabs, both of which are tough to find these days (last time I checked). Generally these apps remapped either the bug report button or the increase/decrease font size buttons.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    cycocelica

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #14
    I just suggest draggin your finger to :apple: key and holding it. Or get a mouse like the MM and set the third button to do that.

    Downloading Camino/Firefox does this as well.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    Safari Enhancer

    A little utility called Safari Enhancer also added a New Tab button, it's stopped working with Safari 3, hopefully it will be updated soon. You can also change the Google Search bar to regional ones like Google UK etc. Very useful.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #16
    Unfortunately, probably not. The developer has stated in his forums that he will not continue updating and developing Safari Enhancer anymore due to personal reasons / life.

    I do hope that Apple will finally implement this feature. All the other browsers have it, why not Apple.

    I really like and prefer Safari. But, why must we sacrifice something so simple that really should be built-in.

    I have submitted my request to Apple for them to implement the feature in upcoming releases. Hopefully they'll comply and activate this simple little button for us.

    If you want to request it yourself, go ahead. I would encourage everyone to request this feature (and any other feature you would like). If enough people request a given feature, then maybe Apple will see that it is worth their time to add it.

    You can request features and changes on Apple's website at:

    http://www.apple.com/feedback/

    There is not a direct button to suggest improvements to Safari. Instead, choose to give feedback on OS X. Then, in the box for "Feedback Area" choose "Internet/Web"

    For "Feedback Type", I chose design / ease of use. But, efficiency/workflow would probably be suitable from a certain perspective. It's most likely suited to design / ease of use though.

    Anyway, I encourage everyone to give feedback and suggest features for anything you would like. I drop by there an request features or changes to computers, OS X, and anything else whenever something I'm doing doesn't seem to be handled right, or if I see a lack in what I'm using.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #17
    Why not just go to "View" + Customize Toolbar and then Drag the New Tab Button to your Toolbar...No hacks needed.....

    Bill.....:D

    P.S. Works both in Safari 2 and 3!
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #18
    You must be joking :cool:

    There is no such button in the customize toolbar screen (unless you've already installed a hack).
     
  19. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #19
    Because there isn't one...?
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #20
    My Bad....Dug a little deeper and forgot I have SaferiStand installed. Thats where the tab button came from.

    Bill.....:eek:
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Jonx

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Location:
    UK
  22. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #22
    THANK YOU SO FLIPPIN' MUCH!!!! :D

    I is a happy camper now!

    Strangely, though, I don't remember ever having to hack, I just remember seeing it in the customize window and I thought it was weird I could never find it on any other mac... Hmm...
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Location:
    Near Glasgow, Scotland
    #23
    I think its pretty damn lazy on Apple's part to not even have a 'new tab' button. Apple + T is not a good enough substitute in my opinion.
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #24
    Could we get a little information on how this works and the individual making it available?

    I guess I'm just a bit cautious downloading files from places I don't know and then installing them (especially in web browsers which may be used to order things online with credit cards).

    Any information greatly appreciated.
     
  25. macrumors 68000

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #25
    I'd have to agree there. Especially since I can't think of another web browser that supports tabbed browsing and doesn't offer a new tab button.
     

Share This Page