Safari opens - doesn't display anything!??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by cb911, Oct 16, 2003.

  1. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #1
    i've got serious problems right now...

    it all started last night when my stupid brother touched my PB and just force shut down it, by holding the power button.

    then i ran fsck -y when it booted up again. it repaired stuff, then i rebooted and logged in normally. then when i went to open Safari... it didn't display any windows or anything. the only thing i can get to is the Downloads window. but when i right click on the dock icon it says that a window is open, but even when i click on that i still don't get anything.

    doesn anyone have any ideas how i can get Safari back? i can't live without it!!
     
  2. ColoJohnBoy macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #2
    This probably isn't the simplest way, but I bet it will work. Completely delete Safari, open an alternate web browser (Like IE or Camino), and download and install it again.

    Again, there's probably a simpler way, but I have no idea what it is.
     
  3. cb911 thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #3
    yeah, i might have to do that.

    oh no... i just searched for safari.plist and deleted it. solved everything. :)
    i was thinking from the start that i should try that... should have done it sooner. :p

    the lesson here - if something is broke, delete it's .plist file!
     
  4. cb911 thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #4
    well i though my problems were over... but now iTunes and any other app i open just sit for about 2 minutes or so. i just get the beach ball... then 2 minutes later the app opens.??

    this is kinda freaking me out now... i guess the sooner Panther gets here the better.

    btw, does anyone know what would cause an app to hang like that? :confused:
     
  5. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  6. cb911 thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #7
    yeah, i repaired permissions about a couple of days ago...

    right now i just tried to quit Folding@Home and everything just jammed for about 40 seconds. i had Process viewer open as well... and there was some thing just called "p" was at the top of the list. under the User collumn it just said "???" and it said it's %CPU was 430!!??? what's up with that?? :eek:!

    i think Folding might be messing with it... it just made iTunes stop playing as well.
     
  7. Squire macrumors 68000

    Squire

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Speaking of Safari not working... Every time my friend went to the .Mac page, Safari unexpectedly quit. I mean, I could see if that happened on Microsoft's site, but on the .Mac page?

    I also have some beach ball problems at times. I just figured it was my lack of RAM. So, how exactly can a person speed up their Mac?

    1) Buy lots of RAM
    2) Get Panther
    3) Repair Disk Permissions

    How else? My parents are always complaining about the beach ball.

    Squire
     
  8. cb911 thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #9
    now i'm sure either Folding@Home is messing things up... or i'm being hacked or something. :p my bro just had to disconnect my PB from the net yesterday, and he says it almost straight away unjammed after the plug was pulled.

    i kind of get the feeling i need more RAM as well, even though i've got 512MB.:rolleyes: i'm going to get another 1GB RAM anyway, but that just a tiny bit of an overkill to fix system lockups.
     

Share This Page