Safari refuses to respond

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by OldCorpse, Dec 25, 2005.

  1. OldCorpse macrumors 65816

    OldCorpse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    compost heap
    #1
    I'm really trying to give Safari a chance... coming off FF 1.5 in XP, I love the Google Toolbar and the way FF handles bookmarks... really don't like the bookmark handling in Safari, but anyway, I figure I'll use Safari exclusively for a few weeks before I even download FF... just to be fair to Safari.

    Current puzzle: the tab combo... pressing "command T" gets you a new tab. Problem is, it then selects the new tab, taking you to a blank page... this is not what I want. I want a new tab, but I don't want it selected, I want to stay where I am, instead of being taken to a blank page. I looked in preferences for Safari, and there I have the "Enable Tabbed Browsing" checked off but I do not have the checkbox "Select New Tabs As They Are Created" selected, nor any other checkboxes there. I have also tried unchecking, then re-checking it back on... no dice :( . I've closed Safari, then brought it back on... still no dice... what next?

    TIA!
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Not sure it's possible, sorry. Hopefully I'm wrong though. :p

    FWIW, the check box in the preferences is referring to when you click on a link to a new tab from a current tab, rather than actually creating a new tab yourself. :)

    I agree it's frustrating. :eek:
     
  3. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    What version of Safari? On v2.02 I get this dialogue box, which gives you the options for opening new tabs - surely one of these will do what you want. Apple-T opens a blank page and brings it to the front with my version, same as yours. Try another key-combo - I don't think you can expect Safari to use the same key combos as Firefox on XP!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. OldCorpse thread starter macrumors 65816

    OldCorpse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    compost heap
    #4
    You misunderstand. I do not expect Safari to behave like FF. I do get exactly the same dialogue box as you do. And I have it selected exactly as you do. My question is, why is it behaving as if I have the checkbox that says: "Select New Tabs As They Are Created" checked, when I do not? That's a bug! The issue is the following behavior: you create a new tab and automatically it takes you to the new tab. That behavior is as if you CHECKED that box - but I did not, and neither did you! Question, what if you did go ahead and check the box? No difference in behavior. A bug. That dialogue box appears to give you the option of either creating a new tab and going there, or just creating a new tab. But it doesn't work. There's only one behavior where it says there should be two possibilities.
     
  5. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You're pressing Apple-T - like it or not that's what Apple-T does. The preferences dialog doesn't refer to the Apple-T shortcut, but to the way clicking on a bookmark link works
    Try what it says in the dialog - Apple+click (or right click and choose 'open in new tab').
     
  6. OldCorpse thread starter macrumors 65816

    OldCorpse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    compost heap
    #6
    Yes, but Command + T (Apple - T) is a Safari shortcut for "New tab" - just go to File, and it's there, second from top. And it says "New tab", not "OPEN new tab" or "New Tab and Select new Tab"... just "New Tab"...

    The preference dialogue includes only shortcuts that refer to tab behavior when clicking on existing links. But the checkboxes in that dialogue do not refer to *clicking* on links, but to **creating** tabs!

    And then the shortcuts below offer you options of creating and selecting tabs for existing links, and creating and not selecting tabs for existing links.

    Thus again, the preference dialogue CHECKBOX for selecting a new tab does not work. That checkbox does NOT refer to existing links - hence the shortcut for "new tab".
     
  7. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #7
    Now I am curious - Why would you want to open a blank tab in the background?

    I'll have to try when I get home to see the behavior of my system, but seems like a bug to me.
     

Share This Page