Safari shortcuts not working...help.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gregbenj, Jul 4, 2006.

  1. gregbenj macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #1
    Some shortcuts aren't working for me in safari: for example, apple+n will no longer open a new window, nor will apple+ctrl+d open up safari's built in dictionary. Why is this happening, and how can I fix the problem?

    Thanks,
    Greg
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Is it just Safari? Do you have any Safari add ons or hacks installed? :)
     
  3. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #3
    No ad-ons or hacks installed.... I figured out why the apple+N (new window) wasn't working. It seems that the shortcut for text to speech was somehow set at apple+N so it overrided the safari one. The dictionary, however (apple+ctrl+d) still does not work!!!!!!!!! When I press that three key combo, nothing happens. When I try to move the cursor with the three keys pressed, the cursor lags far behind. HELP!! I love to use that dictionary!
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Does the Dictionary shortcut work in other apps such as TextEdit? :)
     
  5. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #5
    no, in textedit i get the same results: no dictionary, and the cursor lags behind mouse movement.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, look for a file named com.apple.Dictionary.plist in the Preferences folder and drag it to the Trash. Restart and check whether it's any better now. :)
     
  7. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #7
    trashed that...still no luck. any other suggestions? appreciate the help!
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Right. Does Dictionary the application work? Is it located in the Applications folder? This is one app that cannot be moved. :)
     
  9. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #9
    Yes, I still have the Dictionary program in applications and it works.
     
  10. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #10
    Guessing here... Maybe turn off universal access, or turn disable any keyboard shortcut modifiers on your machine (an app, or under keyboard and mouse).
     
  11. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #11
    universal access is off. keyboard shortcuts have been restored to defaults. still no change. thanks for the help
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    What sort of third party contextual menu items do you have installed, if any? Also, does the Look Up In Dictionary contextual item work properly? :)
     
  13. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #13
    No third party software installed. The dictionary application is functioning; I am able to Look Up, if that is what you were asking. thx
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    Okay, I'm running out of ideas...


    1. Try using these keys in isolation to make sure they work. In Safari, COMMAND-D adds the current page to bookmarks. CONTROL-OPTION-COMMAND-8 should invert your screen colours (it's a toggle so do the same to get normal colours back). Are both of these things working?
    2. Also open up a new user account in System Preferences and see whether your problem carries over.


    Good luck. :)
     
  15. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #15
    It works when I create a new account!! Now, why won't it work under my account? I'm trying to think of anything that I have downloaded. I'm checking OnyX for anything that looks suspicious.......doesn't appear so. Other than that and flip4mac they two accounts should be similar. thx
     
  16. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16
    Okay, is there a file named com.apple.PopupDictDaemon.plist in your Preferences folder? If there is, do what you did with the earlier preference file and drag it out, reboot and check your popup dictionary again. :)
     
  17. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #17
    did that....still a problem. it sounded good, tho! is there's anyway to transfer the plist from the working account to this one?
     
  18. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #18
    Yeah, drag it to the Shared folder from the other account and then into the new account's Preferences folder. I guess it's worth a shot but I doubt it'll work. :eek:
     
  19. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #19
    Ya...no luck. Are you out of options? Thanks for helping. :)
     
  20. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #20
    Yeah, sorry, I'm stuck. Apart form migrating everything manually over to the new account, maybe just check and recheck the third party plug ins, apps or installed items that are exclusive to this account. It sounds like there's an incompatibility somewhere along the line but I can't think of what it'd be. :(
     
  21. gregbenj thread starter macrumors member

    gregbenj

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #21
    Hey, thank you for taking your time to help out a fellow jew with this problem!:)
     

Share This Page