Safari tabs don't work on bookmarks within folders?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by amberashby, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. amberashby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #1
    Is this correct? Works fine on links and bookmarks that aren't in a folder.

    Also, is there anyway to make all links/bookmarks open in a new tab without having to press command?

    Thanks.
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    Use the Apple key when you click on a folder of bookmarks.

    Or open up your bookmarks thing (the book icon on the left of your bookmarks bar) and click the auto-tab check box for that folder. Then they'll always open up in tabs.
     
  3. amberashby thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #3
    Thanks, but that isn't exactly what I was looking for. I don't want to open all of the bookmarks in the folder at once. I just want to pick a folder(drop down) from my bookmark bar at the top of Safari and select one website and have it open in a tab. Is this possible?

    Thanks.
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    It has been my experience that if you hold down the Apple Key when you click on the Bookmark menu, and continue to hold it until you find the bookmark you want it will open in a new tab. However this only works about 70% of the time, otherwise you are SOL.

    TEG
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Yeah, this is frustrating. :( Like you, I have everything in folders on my bookmark bar and never use my bookmark menu. I just Apple-T to make a new tab and then click the link. But its not very satisfactory.
     
  6. amberashby thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #6
    Unfortunately that was the answer I was expecting, but not hoping for. At least now I know it can't be done.

    When I was a windows user there was a browser called Slimbrowser that you could set to tab every link. This was ideal for me. I also don't like to have to hold down the command key to get a tab. I like to do a lot of one handed surfing. :)

    Thanks.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    This is exactly what I want too. What I'd like to see is (with a setting to enable this of course) that any new-window spawning link automatically gets deferred to a tab behind the current tab, unless it fits unders some trigger window size, so that legitimate java pop-ups can pop-up as requesters.
     
  8. Dale Sorel macrumors 6502a

    Dale Sorel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    #8
    If I'm reading you right, you can hold down the command key when you select the Bookmarks menu at the top of the screen and go down to any folder within the menu . Then, when you select a site from within that folder it should open in a new tab.
     
  9. amberashby thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #9
    I'd like to do it without using the bookmark menu. I typically just use the bookmark bar at the top of the screen and I have many categories with dropdowns for the websites.

    Command won't work in this case.
     

Share This Page