Safari Tabs Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by menoinjun, Mar 11, 2003.

  1. menoinjun macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #1
    Hey all. I've seen the reports on the new Safari with tabs, and I really want to know if there is a way to have two or more tabs open up with different webpages loaded when one starts the program up. This would be a very usefull feature, and I'm not sure if it's included in v64 or not.

    Can other browsers do this?

    Thanks
     
  2. t^3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    #2
    You can easily write (or record?) your own Applescript program that does this.
     
  3. menoinjun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #3
    ...and that would require me knowing or having the time to learn AppleScript.

    Thanks for the reply, but is there a way for people who hate coding to do this? I can't be the only person out there with this request.

    Anyone?
     
  4. lmalave macrumors 68000

    lmalave

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    Chinatown NYC
    #4
    I dunno about on startup but you can just put all the pages you want into a folder on your Bookmarks Bark, and then just select "Open In Tabs" from the dropdown. Not as automatic as having the tabs load on startup, but heck, it doesn't take that long to select just one dropdown.
     
  5. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #5
    In the newest build of Phoenix, putting a | inbetween web page adresses would open up new tabs when you started up, for example if you wanted Slashdot, Macrumors and Apple to open as your homepages you would set your homepage like this:

    http://slashdot.org/ | http://www.apple.com/ | http://macrumors.com/
     
  6. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #6
    not as of yet is there any real way to set your homepage as multiple tabs.

    but instead you could create a menu in the bookmarks bar with all the links you want, and in the bottom it will have an option to "Open in Tabs". all of the links would then open in different tabs.
     

Share This Page