Safari won't remember its window size

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by parish, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #1
    Well, at least not its height.

    I push it up against the menu bar, and resize it downwards until it's just above the Dock, but if I exit and restart it, it has reverted to its original height. The top is in the same place, but the bottom edge has moved back to where it started.

    Corrupt plist file perhaps?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #2
    I am experiencing this with a number of different applications, and am ready to go back to Snow Leopard -- window position, window size, save as window, insert file window, . . . . utterly frustrating. I deleted all my user preference files and that didn't fix it.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #3
    Delete all support files and restart your Mac.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #4
    Thanks, but can you elaborate on "all support files" please?
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #5
    In user/library/preferences you will find at least two safari pref files, delete those. Then in user/library you will see a folder named Safari delete this folder, back up your bookmarks or remove them first, restart your mac and then test.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    iwan073

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
  7. parish, Nov 30, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #7
    Not really. What happens now is I set the size then each time I open Safari the window is slightly taller than before (by about the height of the status bar) until it is the full height of the screen.

    Jeez, can't believe this. :rolleyes:

    EDIT I seem to have fixed it. I normally have a standard set of a dozen or so tabs always open (which open every time I start Safari). So I opened a new window, closed the original, quit, then restarted (so it started a single page open). This appears to have fixed it as I have quit and restarted several times and it now retains the window size - even now I've re-opened my standard tabs.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    iwan073

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #8
    So now it remembers the window size for you?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #9
    Yes :)
     

Share This Page