Safari won't stop crashing

Discussion in 'macOS' started by starnox, May 1, 2005.

  1. starnox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #1
    I installed Tiger, but everytime I try to open up Safari it crashes, try again does not work.

    Any ideas how to fix this?
     
  2. ksz macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #2
    Suggestions:

    1. Run Activity Monitor, choose "All Processes" and sort the list by %CPU. Is anything eating up your CPU? Is it VShieldCheck (Virex)? If so, uninstall Virex according to the directions in the Remove Virex thread.

    2. Wait a little while (45 mins?) for Spotlight. The initial indexing can take more time than this, but allow a few minutes of idle time for indexing.

    3. Search the forum for Safari-related posts in the last week and see what else has been mentioned.
     
  3. starnox thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #3
    1. Dont have virex

    2. its completed

    3. have done

    If I restart it will work for like a minute, but then crash.
     
  4. ksz macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #4
    Use Spotlight or Finder to search for safari and try removing its preferences file. I am far away from my Mac at the moment, so this is as much as I can say for now.

    Anyone else?
     
  5. AdamZ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    #5
    Safari continuously stalls

    Safari keeps stalling on me too. i have done two clean installs up to this point trying to fix problems. it only happens when I try to save a movie from the web via quicktime Pro. After choosing save as quicktime movie, i get a beachball that Force Quit has no effect on. Since i still can't log out, reboot, or shutdown, another bug, i have to manually shut down. Also still problems with iSight running at 1 fps. oh well hopefully we'll see an update soon!
     
  6. starnox thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #6
    Thanks, deleted the prefs worked - for now at least :p
     

Share This Page