Safari

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by declen007, Nov 28, 2004.

  1. declen007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    #1
    Hey,
    Can anyone out there using Safari as your browser visit www.jeep.com and tell me if your page loads.. Mine just tries to load and reload ad nausium and never displays the page.....Do i really need to use another browser just to view that web page.. thanks for the help
    declen007 :cool:
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Loads fine here although it uses Flash.

    Check Safari preferences to see if you've got all your plug-ins etc. activated.

    Edit: Safari 1.2.2 with OS 10.3.4...
     
  3. zim macrumors 65816

    zim

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    #3
    I have seen this "effect" bouncing back and forth. Most likely it is in the javaScript.. Either way, someone at Jeep or their hired developers, did not do enough testing.

    Could be that they restricted their detection to Flash 6... their Flash detection looks custom, have not seen this one before.

    You can get around the Flash javaScript detection by using this URI:
    http://www.jeep.com/home_flash.html

    OR

    You could view the non Flash by going here:
    http://www.jeep.com/home.html
     
  4. zoetropeuk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #4
    Doesn't work for me either, just continues to try and reload as you said. I'm using 10.3.6 with Safari 1.2.4.
     
  5. simie macrumors 6502a

    simie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Sitting
    #5
    I can get it to load alright in internet explorer but Safari gets stuck in a loop.
     
  6. Apple Hobo macrumors 6502a

    Apple Hobo

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Location:
    A series of tubes
    #6
    Doesn't work on my machine. v1.2.4(v125.11) on 10.3.6.

    Does anyone here hate Flash sites? I do.
     
  7. iMurc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    #7
    Works on my Computer, its a PB G4 "12, I works with Flash too, it all seems to work fine.
     
  8. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    Using Safari 1.2.4 on Mac OS X 10.3.6 - endless loop. It's annoying and makes the site worthless unless you know how to bypass the loop.
     
  9. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #10
    This post has no meaning anymore - please ignore it.
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    So far, it seems like everyone for whom it works is using a previous version of Safari, huh? Anyone using the latest Panther Safari and 10.3.6, for whom this works? I'm using latest and it doesn't work for me (endless loop)

    BTW it works in firefox. ;)
     
  11. zim macrumors 65816

    zim

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    #12
    Oops, I think that I read something-else into your post... currently working on a client's Flash project and am annoyed... sorry. I think that I did a word substitution in your comment. I read... "I'm using latest and it doesn't work for me (endless loop)" and applied the comment to sites developed with flash. No harm intended.
     
  12. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #13
    Get's stuck in a loop for me. Safari 1.2.4 (v125.11)
     
  13. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #14
    No go with Safari, same endless loop, but it works fine with Firefox. Very annoying.
     
  14. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #15
    Ditto here
     
  15. Vanilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #16
    Doesn't work at all in Safara 1.2.4, just constant looping

    Works fine in Camino

    Works fine in Firefox

    Kinda works in Opera (initial loading sequence doesn't appear, it just loads and displays the homepage)

    Works fine in IE

    vanilla
     
  16. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    Works fine here.
     
  17. wowser macrumors 6502a

    wowser

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    Inglaterra, Europa
  18. blackpeter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #19
    Me too...

    Man, what happened to Safari? Timeout issues, pages not loading correctly, crashing almost every time I visit CBSSportsline.com. When Safari first came on to the scene, I was using Camino (or whatever it was called then) and was delighted to have a full-fledged Apple browser. Now Safari just plain licks.
     
  19. Windowlicker macrumors 6502a

    Windowlicker

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Finland
    #20
    Not working. Safari, 10.3.6. Never seen this kind of thing happening :Q
     

Share This Page