Sahara Chip

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by MacAztec, Jul 22, 2002.

  1. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #1
    I know this chip has been talked about here before, but I heard the Sahara chip supports some sort of quad processing.

    In other words, inside of the main Sahara Chip, there are 4 micro-chips running, supporting the main chip.

    Man, that thing could reach some wicked speeds. It would beat the pants off of a G4 too
     
  2. jadam macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #2
    yeah sure.... my ibook has a sahara, i bet you it BLOWS a g4 lol...

    what you probally mean is that it has 4 parts, and each one can be turned off to conserve battery life, and that isnt in the sahara. the Power4s DO have multichips in it though.
     
  3. alex_ant macrumors 68020

    alex_ant

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Location:
    All up in your bidness
    #3
    Re: Sahara Chip

    No... the G3 Sahara is just one chip. It is faster than equally-clocked G4s though, AltiVec aside. It's a shame the Sahara isn't available in more Mac models, because it kicks ass. Less than 4w of power consumption at 800MHz. Give me a couple of those in my PowerBook, please, so I can enjoy the 5 hours of battery life Apple promised me. :)
     
  4. rice_web macrumors 6502a

    rice_web

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Location:
    Minot, North Dakota
    #4
    I still wish that Apple would release a tower with a 1GHz Sahara, 200MHz system bus, and 400MHz DDR memory. Oh, that beast would cook.
     
  5. alex_ant macrumors 68020

    alex_ant

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Location:
    All up in your bidness
  6. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    It's a G3...

    ..., you can't do dual G3s properly.
     
  7. alex_ant macrumors 68020

    alex_ant

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Location:
    All up in your bidness
  8. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #8
    maybe you should keep that one to yourself there jadam?? ;)
     
  9. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #9
    Re: Sahara Chip

    That would be IBM's Power4 line of processors. It has 4 cores an can turn them on or off individually.

    The G3 is an economical processor. It must run on its own. The Power4 costs more than a PowerMac.
     

Share This Page