Same app, different binaries, peaceful coexistance!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mechcozmo, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #1
    I downloaded the new "Temperature Monitor" app. I had 2.5, the new is 3.2. :eek: Anyway, I quit the old one, dragged the new one from the disk image to my Applications folder... and.... it copied! No prompting to overwrite!

    :confused:

    Turns out, one is a Universal Binary and the other one is PowerPC only. I guess they can exist peacefully. Thought it was interesting.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Being a Universal Binary has nothing to do with it. The two apps have different names. There is probably an extra space in the name of one of the apps.
     
  3. AtHomeBoy_2000 macrumors 6502a

    AtHomeBoy_2000

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #3
    I am thinking the same thing. I have NeoOffice/J on my iMac at home. I recently downloaded the 1.2 Beta version and ASSUMED it would overwrite the other version. It didnt!! Why? 1.2 Beta is listed as NeoOffice, not NeoOffice/J as the previous version did. THerefore, they existed side by side. I had to manually delete the older version.
     
  4. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    Er... no.
    Look at the screen shot. It is nicely spelled out for you there; they are the same. It IS the universal binary thing.

    That'd be different names. Different names=co-existance. Same names=issues.
     
  5. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    So you can see leading or trailing spaces in a screenshot?:rolleyes:
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    That's certainly possible, but why would the authors do that?
     
  7. Lazyhound macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    #7
    I can see the leading ones for sure (though there isn't one in the screen shot).
     
  8. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #8
    Nope, the author changed the application names.

    Version 2.5 of Temperature Monitor (the one I currently have installed) is actually named Temperature Monitor.app. (Finder hides the .app extension and the fact that Temperature Monitor.app is actually a folder.)

    Version 3.2 of Temperature Monitor (that I just downloaded) is actually named TemperatureMonitor.app. I presume that Finder is picking up the name "Temperature Monitor" to display by reading some meta-data out of the application.

    Edit: Finder displays the name stored in the Resource fork of the application as the application name in the finder view. This is the location of the meta-data I mentioned above.
     
  9. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #9
    Ahhhh.... interesting. Thanks for clearing that up. I thought that since they were different styles of compilation, they were stored differently. I guess I was wrong. :eek: Thanks again for finding the different names.

    And no gloating MisterMe, because you didn't know how you were right either!:p ;)
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Mrichmon, thank you for the explanation and education! :)
     

Share This Page