Samsung 26" HDTV LCD Buying Advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Afro1989, May 16, 2006.

1. Afro1989 macrumors 6502a

Dec 16, 2005
    Hey people. I've been using my 19" LG LCD monitor for a couple of years now for my Mac Mini and Xbox 360. I'm starting to think it's time to upgrade. Why not? I have the money. This is why I come to you people to ask if the new Samsung 26" LCD HDTV (Model #LN-S2651D) is worth buying.

I will be using the monitor mostly for my Mac Mini and gaming if that helps. I don't want to spend too much money so that's why I chose the 26". It also seems like the most popular HDTVs out right now are made by Samsung and I've heard many great things about them.

I have a question though. I know that LCDs might fade after time and that would not be good at all since I'd be spending over a grand on this thing. Do LCD televisions such as this have the liquid crystal display with no bulbs that blow in a year or does it have bulbs?

This particular HDTV got some pretty good reviews on but I just wanted to check in with you friendly & honest people because macrumors is where I get the best info/opinions from. :)

I hope someone can help me out on this big decision. I'm only 17 years old and can't afford to waste my hard earned cash. Thanks.

2. blackfox macrumors 65816

Feb 18, 2003
    Afro -

First off, this is probably the wrong forum to post this thread - you should probably be in the buying tips and advice forum. Perhaps a mod will move it for you.

As far as LCD TVs go, I am not the most knowledgeable - but I have heard Samsungs are among the best. They also have really nice design aesthetic (imo). If you can get a good price and things look good (if you can see one in action instore somewhere), I would go for it.