Samsung 840 Pro 256GB in Mac Mini 2012 Raid 0!

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by gizmo84, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. gizmo84, Dec 18, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2012

    gizmo84
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #1
    Single SSD
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    didn't see any threads like this. im going to put a 2nd drive in an do a software raid 0.

    UPDATE: RAID 0 BENCHMARKS!:D:D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 911scanner
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    #2
    My write speed is just a smidge higher, read a smidge lower.

    Frickin' fast SSD though!
     

    Attached Files:

  3. uncleMonty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    #3
    That is awesome, I have ordered two of these drives! I'll have to wait till after the holidays to install them both though. My data doubler kit has arrived and I'm itching to get to work.
     
  4. August West
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Excellent! UPS just delivered my 256gb 840 Pro tonight and will be bringing my new 2.6 mini and 16gb of RAM tomorrow. Should add up to a reasonably quick machine I hope.
     
  5. torana355
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    They are a great drive, i have an 830 512GB to go in my 2012 iMac and will upgrade to a 840 Pro once they prove their reliability.
     
  6. hfg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #6
    Looks like they are pretty consistent .... this is a Samsung 840 PRO 256GB on a Velocity Solo x2 PCIe card in a Mac Pro:



    ...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 53x12
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #7

    If you believe in the reliability of the Samsung 830, then no reason to doubt the 840 Pro. Those initial issues with the drive were all pre-production versions and was fixed with new firmware before they were sold to the general public. I have no doubt the 840 Pro will be fine. :)
     
  8. torana355
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    You are probably right but ill give it 6 months before laying down my hard earned.
     
  9. propower
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #9
  10. analogkid
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Savannah
    #10
    If you raid ssd's you will lose trim passthrough. There is a workaround involving the paid software Softraid, but you can format a softraid volume with the free trial.
     
  11. analogkid
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Savannah
    #11
    This is my Softraid volume with two 830's inside a 2011 Server.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. gizmo84
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #12
    i think the most annoying/difficult part of the install on the on the Mini is the metal antenna grade. it took me a few tries to get it to line up perfectly.
     
  13. gizmo84
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
  14. 53x12
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #14
    Very impressive numbers. How easy was it to set the dual 840 Pro drives in Raid 0?
     
  15. gizmo84
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #15
    Extremely easy. click raid> select striped set> then drag the 2 drives over and click "create. after that it works great. installed ML in 8 minutes :D
     
  16. 53x12
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #16
    I hope to do something similar when the new Haswell mini comes out. So did you do the Raid 0 setup within disc utility or is it within some firmware from Samsung? I assume the firmware?
     
  17. gizmo84
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #17
    its a software raid 0. did it with disk utility.
     
  18. 53x12
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #18
    ^ Thanks for answering my questions.

    Now that you have the 840 Pro in Raid 0, I assume you will never be able to go back. :D
     
  19. Gav2k
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #19
    Can u check the CPU utilisation during a benchmark??
     
  20. Acorn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #20
    I have always been told that raid 0 is fast, but extremely unreliable and prone to failure. I really want to build a machine with raid 0, but im really scared about the chance of failure. the few people ive talked to has said the chance is quite high. is that true?
     
  21. chrfr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #21
    Odds of failure are double that of a single drive. If either disk/SSD fails, all your data is lost.
     
  22. analogkid
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Savannah
    #22

    And lose Trim in the process.. It's a fairly important function, but maybe when your volume degrades you can pull it apart, trim it, put it back together and then restore your data.
     
  23. hfg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #23
    Well, the first part is right ... they are quite fast! :)

    And, while statistically they are more prone to failure, drive failures don't happen often to any single user. Whether a single drive or a pair of RAID drives, any failure can and must be mitigated by a good backup strategy.

    Since you are keeping a backup (just do it) ... I wouldn't worry about a RAID-0 failure.

    I have been running RAID-0 arrays for years with both disks and SSDs with excellent results and no failures. I do keep an automatic backup to be prepared. :cool:
     
  24. gizmo84
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #24
    I used trim enabler. Says its working. I'll use terminal to check if its actually working later.
     
  25. August West
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #25
    My Mini, RAM and 840 Pro arrived and everything is up and running. Other than struggling forever to get the antenna grid aligned and screwed down and not getting the RAM firmly seated the first time around all went well. Another satisfied customer.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page