samsung 840 pro, do I need to enable TRIM?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by northernbaldy, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    northernbaldy

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Location:
    the north, UK
    #1
    Im a bit confused now after reading some threads on here

    do I need TRIM enabled for a samsung 840 pro SSD?
    the spec sheet for the drive says it as TRIM support (with supported os)

    if I do need it, I guess trim enabler is the way to go?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    I think the 840 does great garbage collection on it's own, on the other hand, I don't think there's any downside to enabling trim with the Trim enabler.

    In my situation, I ran my Crucial M4 (at about 60-70% full) for the last several months without TRIM and then recently enabled TRIM. My benchmarks before and after were nearly identical... so it doesn't appear to have benefitted me in any way. On the other hand, it's not causing any issues I'm aware of so I just keep it on.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    northernbaldy

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Location:
    the north, UK
    #3
    I'm going to leave TRIM deactivated and see how it goes
    thanks for the feedback
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #4
    Just to Clarify the OP has a 840 Pro not an 840 as the respondant referenced.

    What is the feeling on TRIM being enabled on the 840 PRO

    Thanks!
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    ClassObject

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
  6. macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #6
    Both my SSD´s run without TRIM enabled. Neither was it on the last iMac i owned. Never caused me any troubles.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #7
    Yes. Only apple drives have it enabled.

    Search for "TRIM enabler"
     

Share This Page