Samsung a900

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by broncoball, Apr 28, 2006.

  1. broncoball macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #1
    I am about to buy a samsung a900 cell phone and was wondering how the bluetooth would work with my powerbook. would i be able to use the phone as a remote for presentations? or just for sending and recieving pics.
     
  2. peterparker macrumors regular

    peterparker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston
    #2
    I haven't used the A900 for either of the purposes mentioned. But I have transfered entries from Address Book to the phone and used Sprint's phone as modem plan to provide Internet access for my PowerBook through the phone. Also works with iPhoto.
     
  3. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #3
    can you send and receive calls through the computer when using bluetooth? and is it easy to set up to use the phone as a modem?
     
  4. peterparker macrumors regular

    peterparker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston
    #4
    Send and receive calls through the computer? Not sure what you mean. The phone as modem is easy to setup, I use the USB cable for that though. Works via Bluetooth also.
     
  5. pianodude123 macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #5
    How do you get the phone to work with iPhoto?>
     
  6. peterparker macrumors regular

    peterparker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston
    #6
    Turn on the phone's USB Mass Storage, plug in the USB cable.
     
  7. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #7
  8. peterparker macrumors regular

    peterparker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston
  9. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #9
    I just got the a900 and now when i have the camera facing me and try to take a picture it comes out upside down. is this normal? is there a way to fix it?
     
  10. Sutekidane macrumors 6502a

    Sutekidane

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    #10
    There is a button you can press, I believe it's on the side of the screen that while in photo mode, it rotates the image 180 degrees. Thats how you take pictures and have them not come out upside down.
     
  11. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #11
    iv been trying to load songs onto the a900 from my powerbook by dragging them into the media folder but when i do it says it can't be transfered because it cant be modified? how do u upload songs onto the a900?
    I think it is reading the phone as a read only. is there any way to still load the songs on?
     
  12. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #12
    is there any way to transfer songs to the phone from a mac? it worked on my pc.
     
  13. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #13
    how do you set up the phone to work as a modem for a computer?
     
  14. peterparker macrumors regular

    peterparker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston
    #14
    I'm not using the phone as modem anymore, but I've gotten the best information from sprintusers.com forums. Whether bluetooth or USB cable it was pretty simple. #777 for phone number, Sprint for modem script. If bluetooth it is configured in System Preferences -> Bluetooth, for USB cable in System Preferences -> Network (Samsung something or another will be listed along with other network devices).
     
  15. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #15
    what do i fill in for the username and password?
     
  16. peterparker macrumors regular

    peterparker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston
    #16
    You don't provide username and password.
     
  17. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #17
    when i try to connect on my phone it says "registration failure. Your PSC Vision usernamea nd or passowrd may be incorrect"
     
  18. pianodude123 macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #18
    How about finding a way to get songs onto the phone from a mac?

    IS this possible!?!?
     
  19. broncoball thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    KC
    #19
    no its not possible. i've tried and emailed samsung and they said it doesnt support mac. the only way is to do it through a pc.
     
  20. crblack24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #20

    The best way I do it is to connect via bluetooth, but make sure the ftp exchange is the media folder (you do this on your phone under setttings-->bluetooth). Choose Browse device on bluetooth on your computer, then upload the song you want.

    Realize, you can only play them in your media player, and can't be used as ringers.
     
  21. crblack24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #21
    mp3 Ringers

    I have figured out how to use shortened mp3's as ringers (using sites like http://rumkin.com/tools/sprint to upload to the phone, then assigning them upon download). But, I have one I want to use as my vm ringer, but only shows me 2 of the ringers I have downloaded. I am using a homemade mp3 ringer as the default ringer, but for some reason the messaging ringers won't let me use them.

    Any ideas??
     
  22. shayaan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    #22

    I have the same problem.... anyone have any ideas?
     
  23. Danger! Will macrumors regular

    Danger! Will

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    #23
    For phone as modem an the error
    Your PSC Vision username and or passowrd may be incorrect


    Goto
    Menu
    Settings
    Display
    Then Press 0
    Enter 040793
    Go Down See of their is an option to toggle NAI
    turn nai off
    power cycle your phone
     

Share This Page