Samsung Galaxy S3 has huge security flaw

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by ScottishDuck, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. ScottishDuck, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    ScottishDuck

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Argyll, Scotland
    #1


    Any Samsung Galaxy S3 can be remotely wiped if sent the following code

    This code can be embedded in HTML, sent in a text, email, anything...

    This is a big one.
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Device engineer 30+ yrs, touchscreens 24+.
    #2
    If so, then how about not printing the code, please.

    No reason to make it any easier for lazy jerks to screw someone up.
     
  3. The iGentleman, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    #3
    This doesn't work. I just sent a text to my GS3 with that number and nothing happened besides me receiving the text....nothing to see here.. :rolleyes:
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    munkery

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #4
    Remote wipe Samsung devices via the browser

    Samsung devices don't use USSD codes securely.

    The USSD code to factory data reset a Galaxy S3 is *2767*3855#

    This can be triggered from browser like this: <frame src="tel:*2767*3855%23" />
     
  5. macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #5
    And the point or you just exposing some issue? If it is the latter when maybe you can simply elaborate.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    not true, troll thread
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    ugahairydawgs

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #7
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #8
  9. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    So thread title should be "Samsung Galaxy S3 had huge security flaw"
     
  10. macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #10
    And added to it a work around to prevent it from happening. Using a 3rd party dailer until it is patch. This was just sloppy coding on Samsung's part.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #11
    It can be avoided by simply using Chrome as the browser as well.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #12
    IPhone has had several huge security flaws, like the one in messages two months ago where a Russian hacker could hack your phone and steal all your info and contacts.

    And iPhone has had many other, like the one in safari that allowed jailbreakme.com.

    So...
     
  13. macrumors 601

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #13
    And this has what exactly to do with this thread?
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    munkery

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #14
    Android has far more serious security issues than iOS.

    This is exemplified by how much malware targets Android while iOS hasn't had any real malware threats.
     
  15. ChazUK, Sep 25, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2012

    macrumors 603

    ChazUK

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Essex (UK)
    #15
    Possibly not as big an issue as the tech media made out to be?

    http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/0...ng-exploit-it-was-already-fixed-in-an-update/



    More page hit fodder! :D
     
  16. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #16
    As far as I know this is only on TouchWiz and I'm running an AOSP based ROM so I guess I'm safe :D
     
  17. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #17
    Not true. This is an old android bug, which has been largely patched - but existed in the default browser and samsung dialer until a recent OTA fix.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
    #18
    Doesn't do anything with my S3

    Doesn't even launch the dialer app with the international Galaxy S3 (i9300) with latest official 4.0.4 XXBLH3 firmware and latest unofficial 4.1.1 leak for nordic countries (XXDLI8), haven't tried it with the official 4.1.1 for poland (XXDLIB), but I would assume that it doesn't have this bug either.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    #19
    Exactly what this guy/gal said....
     
  20. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #20
  21. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #21
  22. macrumors 68020

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #22
    Code is from the 1970s

    The code is: 867-5309
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Location:
    Macbook Pro 13'' - Mid 2012 Baseline
    #23
    He is using a Samsung Galaxy S2?
     
  24. macrumors 68030

    G51989

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
    #24
    Well, Malware targets the highest amount of users, and there are far more Android users than iOS users.

    I've never had any security problems on any of my Android devices. Clearly it must actually be iOS.
     
  25. munkery, Sep 26, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2012

    macrumors 68020

    munkery

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #25
    Nope.

    More Android phones but factor in iPads then way more devices running iOS.

    At the moment: mobile & tablet only / overall

    iOS = 66% / 6%

    Android = 21% / 2%

    http://www.netmarketshare.com/mobile-market-share

    http://www.netmarketshare.com/operating-system-market-share.aspx?qprid=8&qpcustomd=

    Totally throws the market share theory in the garbage.
     

Share This Page