Satellite troubles

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by MonksMac, Feb 14, 2006.

  1. MonksMac macrumors 6502a

    MonksMac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    DFW
    #1
    Hola! When we bought our house we found that we had a Satellite dish in the backyard. The REALLY BIG kind and I was wondering if I could just connect the satellite cable into my TV. It's a stupid question but I am very curious.
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    No. You can't simply connect a BUD (big ugly dish) directly to your TV. The frequencies and modulation are all wrong.

    You'll need something like a C-band integrated receiver (IRD) to convert the signals.

    B
     
  3. MonksMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MonksMac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    DFW
    #3
    Thanks

    So do I need to find a recciver for it? We had one that came with the house, but we threw it away long ago.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Yeah, try here http://4dtvforum.com/ for more info. There's less and less free programming you can get, but there are subscription services.

    B
     
  5. MonksMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MonksMac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    DFW
    #5
    Thanks I will keep looking for a recciver somewhere (the trash maybe?):D
     

Share This Page