Saving down to Illustrator 1.1?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by thecravecase, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #1
    I have a guy that is asking me to save my files down to illustrator 1.1 - anyone know how to do this? I'm using CS2 and the lowest I can go is 3. Are there other file types that he may be able to accept?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia (EU)
    #2
    If he is using that old version (or whatever application he is using for importing .ai format), I doubt he can open Illustrator 3 format.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #3
    I know! So any ideas on what I can do since the lowest I can go is 3?
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #4

    Crazy. That's software that's almost 25 years old. All I can suggest for now is that you save it down to the lowest version of eps you can manage, send it over and see if he can open it. You'd probably have to use something like Illustrator 4 or 5 at your end to be able to save down to a native file.

    If your artwork has any gradients, transparency, possibly even spot colours, it will not translate at all. Let us know what happens. :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #5
    I will definitely let you know. Thank you both for your responses!
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia (EU)
    #6
    If I remember correctly, Illustrator 10 could save to Illustrator 1.1.
    But any other older version (9, 8,7 etc.) should too ... but these will not work for you on your shinny new Intel Mac.

    You have three options:
    1.) get someone, who has older PowerPC Mac with installed older version of Illustrator
    2.) you install an emulator, like Sheepshaver and inside of that MacOS 8 or 9
    3.) or you get to someone, who has a PC with installed older versions of Illustrator. Don't forget to firstly convert any fonts inside your .ai file to curves.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #7
    Thanks opeter! I had someone using an old Mac w/ versions 10 and 8 try it and no luck. But we didn't try an emulator. Those are the lowest versions I have access too :/
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Another question for me is, how complex are the files and what features have you used that are likely not present in Illustrator 1.1? Being able to save back is one thing, but if the resulting files are not going to look as intended, your guy with 1.1 may not be able to do what he wants.

    EDIT: oops, Blue Velvet covered this issue. Apologies.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #9
    It is not complicated at all. Just simple black text (created to outlines), no background, 1 layer.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #10
    Save it as a .pdf and see if he can open it in his version of Illustrator.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    RebootD

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    #11
    This reminds me of a client I worked with who kept saying the website we designed wouldn't work on his PC. We finally asked him what he was running and he told us "486-DX2 66Mhz and IE 4".. in 2008 :eek:

    After a round of laugher we told him to upgrade and get back to us. Seriously there is only so much you should have to deal with and making a compatible file for a 25yr old piece of software is lunacy.

    I'm so interested to see where this leads though! Good luck.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    PDF is way newer than Illustrator 1.1.
    If a vendor is making this request... get a new vendor.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #13
    eps - illustrator 3 - worked. i should have known! crazy. thanks everyone for your input!
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #14

    Suspected as much. Glad that's sorted out. Can you tell us something about the setup this guy is working with and the job? It's very weird to hear of someone using software that old and I'm just curious as to why they haven't upgraded to something a little more contemporary.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #15
    For us, at least, he is creating car decals. That's about all I know. I would assume whatever other printing equipment he uses to create them is just as old and may be too expensive to replace so he continues with what's working.
     

Share This Page